Risking a Topiary Prune

Two years ago while in Florida I bought 3 olive trees.

The trees have grown over the past two years but have lost their compact shape.
The trees have grown over the past two years but have lost their compact shape.

My main purpose in getting them was for their looks. (I was inspired by all olive trees we saw in France bedecking restaurants and shops.)

We keep the olive trees in the conservatory during the winter.
We keep the olive trees in the conservatory during the winter.

I don’t like olives and I really didn’t expect Charlie to get into the olive oil pressing business.

One Koroneiki (Greek) in the middle is doing better than the two Arbequina (Spanish) varieties.
One Koroneiki (Greek) in the middle is doing better than the two Arbequina (Spanish) varieties.

They’ve been in the house all winter so I asked Charlie to take them outside since the weather is supposed to be well above freezing.

I like the shape of these olive trees at Atelier de Campagne.
I like the shape of these olive trees at Atelier de Campagne.

I’m taking my pruners to them to see if I can’t coax them into a more lollipop-like shape.

Before pruning the tress were a mas of helter skelter branches.
Before pruning the tress were a mass of helter skelter branches.

I took off all the branches below about 12 inches and left only the main stem (which was sometimes hard to distinguish from a branch).  I hope I haven’t made an awful mistake.

The two Spanish olive trees are almost leafless.
The two Spanish olive trees are almost leafless.

I also fertilized them with some Miracle Gro.

I had to cut a large, low branch off of the Greek olive tree, almost half the tree.
I had to cut a large, low branch off of the Greek olive tree, almost half the tree.

Hoping that they leaf out and become beautiful, manageable topiaries.

What inspires you?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Risking a Topiary Prune”

Leave a Reply

