The Trash on My Street

As I was driving out from my house last night I spied a pair of chairs left by the side of the road.

A neighbor has clearly had enough of these Victorianesque chairs.
A neighbor has clearly had enough of these Victorianesque chairs.

I live on a dead end street of about half of a dozen houses so I know these chairs are not meant for some passer-by to snatch up.

If these were truly from a Victorian set there would be both a masculine and feminine model of the chair -- similar but not exactly the same.
If these were truly from a Victorian set there would be both a masculine and feminine model of the chair — similar but not exactly the same.

Their Victorian feeling  is not my (current) style or you know I would have dragged them home.

Pretty details that could easily be enhanced in a theatrical paint shop.
Pretty details that could easily be enhanced in a theatrical paint shop.

I also know that some theatre company would love to have these in their prop closet.  I remember designing Harvey (the play about a six-foot invisible rabbit) years ago and having to borrow some stock Victorian furniture from another theatre company with more storage than we had.

I'm guessing the vacuum cleaner doesn't work.
I’m guessing the vacuum cleaner doesn’t work.

We have some wonderful university and regional theatres here in Maryland.  Don’t overlook that avenue if you’re trying to get rid of items that might be valuable for props and costumes. (I donated some hats here.) Theatre artists and artisans are talented at renewing your cast-offs to fit their plays. And, of course, you can usually take a tax deduction if the theatre company is not-for-profit.

Do you have specific advice about passing on unwanted items? Furniture? Clothes?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “The Trash on My Street”

  1. These chair ARE my style, trying to find a pair like these at auction is akin to finding rocking horse teeth, if I live anywhere close by I would have willingly paid good money for them …Deep Sigh

Leave a Reply

