Dressing Table Light Deal

I almost didn’t make a purchase at the Decorating Outlet when we went there to find lighting fixtures for the master bathroom.

The wall fixture over my dressing table will be installed on the circle centered above it with room for a wall mirror.
The wall fixture over my dressing table will be installed on the circle centered above it with room for a wall mirror under the light.

But before I gave up I found some outdoor wall lights stashed in a back corner that were just a little different. Some were trimmed in satin nickel and some in aged bronze.

Our salesman was very helpful -- especially to Charlie who had a million questions.
Our salesman was very helpful — especially to Charlie who had a million questions.

I would have purchased the nickel one if, instead of clear glass, it had had seeded glass.  Our salesperson would have gladly switched the glass from another fixture except that it was glued in.

I'll alleviate the dings and scratches with a custom paint job.
I’ll alleviate the dings and scratches with a custom paint job.

That’s the one I bought.

The lamp housing is applied directly to the wall.
The lamp housing is applied directly to the wall.

It had other issues, too. The price, however, was right. $199 marked down to $139 then, after a little haggling, finally priced at $99. SOLD!

The seeded glass shade doesn't look like much without the housing which will hang in the electrical hole in the wall.
The seeded glass shade doesn’t look like much without the housing which will hang in the electrical hole in the wall.

I’m planning to hang it on the wall over my dressing table but not until I’ve painted the metal housing a different color.

The fixture put together sans light bulbs.
The fixture put together sans light bulbs.

It’s different for a bathroom but should shed plenty of light on my side of the room.

Sidebar: Today would have been my mother’s 89th birthday.  She would have loved all this renovating and decorating stuff. Miss you, Mommie.

Will you do small repairs for a bargain price?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Dressing Table Light Deal”

  1. It is pretty, and I think it will look great in a different finish. I also buy everything with the thought of changing it to better suit what I what. I can never understand when people just can’t “see” what something will look like with a coat of paint or other minor adjustment.

Leave a Reply

