Hyper-focused Shopper

When I go shopping I focus on the thing (or things) I want to buy and mentally ignore anything that doesn’t meet my criteria.

The 2 frosted-glass hanging pendants would have fit the space (and my criteria) perfectly but seemed a little mundane.
The 2 frosted-glass hanging pendants would have fit the space (and my criteria) perfectly but seemed a little mundane.

While shopping at the Decorating Outlet for lighting fixtures, the first order of business was 2 hanging pendants for the master bathroom.

Unfortunately many of the "pairs" had different colored hardware.
Unfortunately many of the “pairs” had different colored hardware.

I took pictures of all viable pairs.

We might have used these either over the sinks in the bathroom or as the hallway ceiling fixtures.
We might have used these either over the sinks in the bathroom or as the hallway ceiling fixtures.

Charlie pointed out other pairs that he liked (which I liked, too) but that didn’t meet all criteria.

Mottled mercury glass was a consideration especially when our salesperson showed it to Charlie "lit up".
Mottled mercury glass was a consideration especially when our salesperson showed it to Charlie “lit up”.

For instance, I don’t do “brown”. Not in what will ultimately be a grey marble bathroom.

Matching clear glass square pendants with a hand-made feeling.
Matching clear glass square pendants with a hand-made feeling.

And, although a clear fixture is attractive, I know Charlie does not like to see the actual light bulb once it is lit.

These fixtures were still hanging in the store from when we were there 2 years ago and I still like them.
These teardrop mercury glass fixtures were still hanging in the store from when we were there 2 years ago and I still like them.

With all these choices we did not find what we wanted here at the Decorating Outlet.

These hanging fixtures were too huge for the bathroom but attractive nonetheless.
These hanging fixtures were too huge for the bathroom but attractive nonetheless.

After determining that we’d need to look elsewhere, I took a few more pictures and discovered I hadn’t seen some truly interesting fixtures in my blinders-on desire to find what I was looking for.

Love these blue lanterns.
Love these blue lanterns.

But we really tried.

Are you a focused or haphazard shopper? Or something in the middle?

 

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Hyper-focused Shopper”

  1. I usually know exactly what I want, and then the challenge is see if any manufacturer has read my mind! If you find the perfect single fixture, can’t you order a mate for it? The ones in the store are probably just display models.

    1. I find I’m either way before my time or just missed the boat on things I’m looking for. I always love when I have a photo of an item and a salesperson tells me that they’ve never seen such a thing and it doesn’t exist. Decorating Outlet is only “display models” so to speak and so the prices are exceptionally good. But, yes, most of the lights can be ordered from the mother store. Jo

Leave a Reply

