I Think It’s a No-Go

I’ve been wanting to get the master suite hallway painted for two reasons: 1) to hang this cabinet and 2) to hang my mother’s ornate gold leaf mirror.

I would like this French gilt mirror centered in the doorway.
I would like this French gilt mirror centered in the doorway.

It’s kind of flashy and doesn’t really go with anything else we have but I like it a lot.

The hall wall is perfect for the mirror.
The hall wall is perfect for the mirror.

It will be (in my opinion) perfect just outside the bathroom on the hall wall.

Looking toward the entrance of the master bathroom from the shower.
Looking toward the entrance of the master bathroom from the shower before the drywall was installed.

I want to make sure it is securely hung which won’t be difficult since that particular wall is totally covered (under the drywall) with the house’s original sheathing.

Use a sturdy hook.
Use a sturdy hook.

I hung a sturdy hook about the size of my thumb.

I was sure this would be the perfect spot.
I was sure this would be the perfect spot.

The mirror is hung right in the center of the doorway.

Too much of the back of the mirror shows in the side view which is the entry to the bathroom.
Too much of the back of the mirror shows in the side view which is the entry to the bathroom.

I noticed some undesirable issues.

While the bathroom layout has changed, the door swings in the hall plan are basically the same.
While the bathroom layout has changed, the door swings in the hall plan are basically the same and would compete with the ornate mirror.

The hallway is suddenly way too busy.  We’ll have a ceiling fixture, a 15-inch deep cabinet with 18-inch doors at the end of the hall, and the bathroom door will open on the mirror wall.

This mirror is so unique it really does not need any competition.
This mirror is so unique it really does not need any competition.

I still like the idea of a mirror so I might have to add a simple frame to a full-length mirror. However, I’m not happy about my unworkable plan.

Do you mock-up plans to see if they’ll work?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “I Think It’s a No-Go”

  1. Ook makes a Hangman French cleat picture hanger in different sizes that might hold it closer to the wall. You have to screw one piece into the back of the object being hung, so that might be a problem. It looks a little low to me in the pictures. Is there a place in the closet that it might work? Sure hope you can find a good place for it.

    1. Once the closet is outfitted there will be no wall space. I might have to let this one go. There is a spot on my side of the bed that I might try it for awhile but it wasn’t the style I was going for in the bedroom. Jo

  2. I have the perfect solution. You will just send the mirror to me and I will hang it in my living room where no doors shall hit it. 😉 It might be nice to have a body length mirror where you have the ornate one currently.

    1. I should have included the photo that shows a full body length reflection if I stand across the room. It would look good in your living room. Jo

  3. I will take it off your hands :)… You have likely already recieved this but I would like to award you with a Liebster award if you will accept. I’m in the process of writing up my post on it, it will be up by the end of the week.

    1. I have had a Liebster but I’ll be glad to answer your questions. However, I don’t think I’m eligible because I have over 300 followers. Jo

  4. A mirror this special needs some space so it can be admired as it’s approached. You’ll find someplace. I also think it should hang a little higher.

Leave a Reply

