I Never Has Seen Snow

Oh, yes, I have. (“I Never Has Seen Snow” is a song from the musical, House of Flowers.) I’ve seen lots of snow this winter and I’m usually unmoved by it.

A month ago Charlie weeded the vegetable garden to get it ready for early spring planting.
In early February Charlie weeded the vegetable garden to get it ready for early spring planting.
From approximately the same viewpoint, the garden is covered with an early March snow which predicts another weekend of indoor projects.
From approximately the same viewpoint, the garden is covered with an early March snow which predicts another weekend of indoor projects.

The morning sunlight in the tops of the trees promised a sunny, if cold, day.

I joined 3 photos to get one view of the back yard.
I joined 3 photos to get one view of the back yard. (Click to enlarge.)

The entire back yard can be viewed from the small porch just off the conservatory French doors.

West yard reference.
West yard reference.

The various outbuildings at The Glade and their proximity to each other can be seen although the snow camouflages each element.

The shed has looked like a little house in the woods during the recent snow events.
The shed has looked like a little house in the woods during the recent snow events.

I don’t want to leave out our shed which we call the “wee little house”. (We used to call the Cottage the “little house” then the shed was rebuilt after an oak tree fell on it so we renamed it , too.)

The morning light warms the corner of the cottage seen from the kitchen bump-out.
The morning light warms the corner of the cottage seen from the kitchen bump-out.

Don’t forget to turn your clocks ahead tonight. We’ll all be tired tomorrow morning.

What’s your favorite season?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “I Never Has Seen Snow”

  1. Same weather here on Long Island. It’s really screwing-up my 2015 “To Do” list schedule. I’m no where near, on my beds, to what Charlie got done. 12″ of snow and I don’t even have my frames up. Send Charlie over to help and I’ll supply the pizza and pop (got a tiller? that would help).

  2. Meanwhile, we in the Northwest have had very little snow in the mountains, so we are looking at a drought conditions for summer. This weekend we are enjoying temps in the 60s. I feel bad for my friends in the east … all that snow would be getting me down. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

