I Waited and Now It’s Gone

Off and on I’ve been looking at the tile for the new bathrooms for over a year.

I like this white on white tile for the conservatory bathroom floor.
I like this white on white tile for the conservatory bathroom floor and at $5.99 per square foot the price is right.

In the conservatory bathroom I had decided on white-on-white dogbone basketweave ceramic tile.

I thought the white basketweave would look nice with the frosted glass tile I was planning for the shower walls and backsplash.
I thought the white basketweave would look nice with the frosted glass tile I was planning for the shower walls and backsplash.

I originally found it at the Tile Shop but when I went to purchase it they didn’t have enough in nearby stores or warehouse and I was told they were changing vendors and so, if I could, I should wait.

The conservatory was not ready for flooring two months ago but we're getting closer.
The conservatory was not ready for flooring two months ago but we’re getting closer.

At the time we weren’t quite ready so I just let it go.

This tile is the replacement: more expensive, slippery, and with little belly buttons at each intersection.
This tile is the replacement: more expensive, slippery, and with little belly buttons at each intersection.

Now I’m ready and the “replacement” is not the same.  It’s certainly not dogbone.

The new-style tile is on the right.  I also looked at straight basketweave white marble (on the left).
The new-style tile is on the right. I also looked at straight basketweave white marble (on the left).

The finish is now shiny instead of matte. And the tiny square tiles stick up like bubbles.

I might be able to get it at Home Depot where the price is $7.95 per piece and each piece is only a 10.5 inch square.  See how they get you?
I might be able to get it at Home Depot where the price is $7.95 per piece and each piece is only a 10.5 inch square. See how they get you?

And so the search resumes.

Is your favorite style discontinued?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “I Waited and Now It’s Gone”

    1. You’re right, Chad. I asked the salesman, “Is this floor tile?” He said yes, I think not. Why can’t salespeople just look at me and know I’ve been around the block. The hunt is on. Jo

Leave a Reply

