I Never Get My Whole List Completed

I’m not sure if I’m a pessimist or an optimist.  I always have more on the to-do list than I have time and energy for.

The blue ceiling in the conservatory ties to the curtains in the kitchen.
The blue ceiling in the conservatory ties to the curtains in the kitchen.

I wanted to paint the conservatory and the attached bathroom this past weekend. The conservatory is finished but the bathroom has not been started yet.

The conservatory is painted in Benjamin Moore's "Tea Light" on the walls and Valspar's "Hydrangea" on the ceiling.
The conservatory is painted in Benjamin Moore’s “Tea Light” on the walls and Valspar’s “Hydrangea” on the ceiling.

I also wanted to get the conservatory furniture set up again.

The view standing near the bathroom looking toward the French doors into the back yard.
The view standing near the bathroom looking toward the French doors into the back yard.

Even after all the painting was finished every piece of furniture needed a major dusting.

The conservatory has a television and, hopefully, a sound system (in the future).
The conservatory has a television and, hopefully, a sound system (in the future).

That included washing the windows which were covered with drywall dust.

I really don't know how Charlie can move furniture by himself.
I really don’t know how Charlie can move furniture by himself.

Charlie wouldn’t let me help with the heavy furniture so he carried the hope chest and 2 love seats into the room by himself. Grrrr!

All of this furniture has been stashed in the dining and living rooms. Chaos!
All of this furniture has been stashed in the dining and living rooms. Chaos!

This room still needs flooring, doors, and trim, none of which will happen until the bathroom floor is tiled.

A cute little corner bistro set with a dedicated pendant light.
A cute little corner bistro set with a dedicated pendant light.

I love that it is painted. And I still love the blue ceiling.

Are you a good estimator of time and resources?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

13 thoughts on “I Never Get My Whole List Completed”

  1. That’s a nice space. I like the cabinet, too. Your green is similar to what Marina chose for our MBR walls and LR ceiling (green isn’t among my favourites). I like light sky blue on ceilings for visual height but white goes with everything. I never estimate a definite time for completion but, rather, an “at least” estimate. (ie. “It’ll take me, at least, the weekend to strip paint off all three doors”.) Materials are easy for me to estimate. Time is the tricky one.

    1. I bought that cabinet in 1978 in a little used furniture shop Greenwich Village, NYC. It was my personal first in buying a piece furniture because I liked it. Thanks for the replies. Jo

  2. Yes, that cabinet is beautiful! Just think, you get to move it all out and in again for the flooring. 🙂 Eric does the same thing–picks up giant pieces and carries them. Sheesh!

    1. Ah, yes, the flooring. I’m ready to just paint the sub-floor and call it done. Just kidding. Flooring is something I don’t think I’m personally up to since getting up and down is difficult for me. Jo

  3. I love that blue ceiling and with all the windows in the room it gives it a really airy look. And what finish did you use? Looks like an eggshell. vs a flat. I have done that in rooms despite the painters objections but they liked the effect afterwards. Looking good.

    1. It does look like eggshell, almost pearly, but it’s flat. I’m wondering how different it will look when, instead of snow on the ground reflecting up, it will be grass. Anyway, from other rooms you can’t really discern the color, just the lightness. Jo

  4. oh yeah the snow reflecting would give it a bit of extra shine. It is really a good effect. I tried to get that airy effect on my porch by painting the ceiling haute blue but I did not choose the right blue. I have a birds eggshell I am going to take to the store in the spring to have color matched. I was never a blue person but these days that is changing. Anyway I love how your conservatory is coming along. Starting to see a lot of progress!!!

  5. LOL. Subscribe to ipsy then. I have subscribed to a few different sample places and have cancelled all but ipsy. I am very happy with my packages each month. They have sent me two lipsticks I would have NEVER purchased on my own but I love love love the colors they sent me and will now purchase I also love the beaty masks they sent me in this month’s bag:

Leave a Reply

