Painting, Painting, During the Snowy Day

(The title is to the tune of “Sailing, sailing, over the bounding main.”)

I got up early yesterday and finished priming the corners of the conservatory and bathroom with a brush.

4 inches of snow predicted -- 8 inches actually on the ground
4 inches of snow predicted — 8 inches actually on the ground

Then, the snow fell, I painted two coats on the conservatory ceiling, both edging and rolling.

Uh-oh, it's pretty dark.
Uh-oh, it’s pretty dark.

The “Hydrangea” blue paint on the white primer looked very dark.

Even wet I liked the blue ceiling.
Even wet I liked the blue ceiling.

But wet paint can be misleading so I finished the first coat, let it dry then painted another coat to fill in any holidays that remained from the first coat.

Eventually the doorways will have double Shaker-style doors.
Eventually the doorways will have double Shaker-style doors.

I love the finished blue ceiling so I was eager to see how the green walls would look with the blue.

The wall color is "Tea Light".
The wall color is “Tea Light”.

My shoulders, knees, and neck were aching but I needed to get one wall painted so I could assess the results.

I think the loveseats will look nice in this blue and green room.
I think the loveseats will look nice in this blue and green room.

At first I wasn’t sure (and I won’t be totally sure until the furniture is moved back into the room) but I held up a pillow that matches the slipcovers on the loveseats and I think the paint and upholstery look good together.

This was my mock up of the conservatory with grey ceiling and Tea Light walls.
This was my mock up of the conservatory with grey ceiling and Tea Light walls.
This is the conservatory partially painted with Tea Light by Benjamin Moore.
This is the conservatory partially painted with Tea Light by Benjamin Moore.

Today we’ll finish the conservatory paint, then on to the conservatory bathroom.

What job makes you feel old?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Painting, Painting, During the Snowy Day”

Leave a Reply

