Small World, Isn’t It?

This is a long, involved story about purchasing a discount cabinet.

Open from 8 a.m. until 3 p.m. --We arrived at 8.
Open from 8 a.m. until 3 p.m. –We arrived at 8.

Last week I told you about a place near us that sells showroom cabinets and otherwise not-able-to-sell-at-retail cabinets at good prices.

I have my eye on this 36-inch wide glass front cabinet for our linen closet -- $150.
We purchased this 36-inch wide glass front cabinet for our linen closet — $150 $125.

We went in to pick up this white cabinet marked $150 for our linen closet.  Charlie asked if they could do any better and the cashier/warehouseman dropped the price to $125.

I got excited when I saw this vanity set but it was too wide by 6 inches. I would have painted it.
I would like the 2 double-doored vanity cabinets but instead of the 24″ drawers in the middle we need only 18″. (I intend to paint so the price needs to be “right”.)

They also still have this set of bathroom cabinets of which I’d like to have the two sink vanities but the cabinet company is not yet ready to break up the set.

The cabinet fit in my car.
The cabinet fit in my car.

Immediately after picking up the cabinet I went on to my physical therapy appointment for my knee.  I was talking with the receptionist/scheduler (whom I’ve known for at least 4 years over 3 surgeries) telling her all about my cabinet purchase and the ones that got away.

Ultimately this cabinet will fit in the niche at the end of the master suite hall.
Ultimately this cabinet will fit in the niche at the end of the master suite hall.

Turns out the cashier/warehouseman is her husband and she would like to convince him to do a little better for us.  Only time will tell the end of this tale, but maybe we’ll have bathroom cabinets sooner than expected.

I was not perked or paid to mention this warehouse.

Do you have a “small world” story?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Small World, Isn’t It?”

  1. While purchasing a trailer (so we can buy bigger things at estate sales and discount stores), from a Harbor Freight store that’s about 30 miles away, the cashier took our info. for vehicle registration and noted her best friend lives on the same street as us. Turns out her best friend used to live at our house (now she lives a few blocks down the road) and she’s been admiring our remodeling project and watching it progress toward completion.

    1. That was my thinking, too, although I’d prefer to plan the closet then get the pieces rather than the other way around. The salesman led me to believe breaking the set up was inevitable. I can wait. Jo

Leave a Reply

