Chairs: Now I Decided to Keep Them

I have a set of four chairs I inherited from my mother, actually from her attic.

Carved cane-back antique chairs - set of four
Carved cane-back antique chairs – set of four

A few years ago I tried to sell the four of them on Craigslist for $90 for the set. Since then they’ve been in the Cottage attic covered with a sheet.

I'm note sure the leather is real leather but it is really worn.
I’m note sure the leather is real leather but it is really worn.

Now I’ve decided that I could use them in the dining room and they would be exquisite.

Some of the caning is new and some old.  I like how the wood is well-worn in some areas.
Some of the caning is new and some old. I like how the wood is well-worn in some areas.

I’m not inclined to paint them although that is not off the table totally. One thing I know for sure is I’m not painting them white, the ubiquitous furniture paint color of the 21st century. And I like how they are naturally worn to a light color is certain areas.

These dark chairs against the white paneling in the dining room should look nice.
These dark chairs against the white paneling in the dining room should look nice.

The cane backs are in good shape but the leather seats which hide, I think, formerly caned seats could use some sprucing up. I can easily cover them with either toile from the dining room window seat or canvas from the shades or something a little more daring.

For now the chairs are crowded in the living room until the conservatory (which we still need to paint)furniture gets moved back into that room.
For now the chairs are crowded in the living room until the conservatory (which we still need to paint)furniture gets moved back into that room.

Ultimately I’m happy they didn’t sell on Craigslist.

What are you saving that you could be using?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Chairs: Now I Decided to Keep Them”

  1. I remember Mommy re-caning the backs of some of those chairs. What a project!! In response to your question — something that I finally decided to part with — the Waterford lighting fixture that I inherited from Mary Lu. I consigned it and it sold right before X-mas. Lisa

    1. The Waterford fixture, while beautiful, was not really your elegant but laid back style. I wouldn’t have a place for it either. Hope you got a good price. Jo

  2. Please don’t paint them at all. One can’t buy the natural ‘patina of age’ these have acquired. There are readily available, equivalent ‘Made in China’ chairs that can be painted or ‘shabby chiqued’ without sin. I would pay $50-75/chair depending on ID of age, construction, and condition.
    What am I saving (storing) that I could be using? Every room is still not completely finished so there’s a lot we have in storage. My violin and record turntable are two I’m particularly anxious to get out of storage and use.

    1. I’m with you about painting — the wood on these is so smooth with natural highlights and lowlights. I know what you mean about storing things until the NEXT room is ready. I do have a few more items in the attic that might make their way into the house, too. Jo

Leave a Reply

