Off To Buy Some Paint

With the drywall finishing nearing completion I have made my list of paint to buy:

I buy the 2-gallon bucket of primer because it's easier to manage than the 5-gallon bucket and more convenient than the 1-gallon.
I buy the 2-gallon bucket of primer because it’s easier to manage than the 5-gallon bucket and more convenient than the 1-gallon.

2-gallon bucket of Zinsser primer,

Tea Light by Benjamin Moore
Tea Light by Benjamin Moore
I must decide on the ceiling color BEFORE we paint the walls.
I must decide on the ceiling color BEFORE we paint the walls.

1 gallon of Benjamin Moore Tea Light for the conservatory and conservatory bathroom,

We used Benjamin Moore's Moonshine for the upstairs hall so we'll continue with it into the hall of the master suite.
We used Benjamin Moore’s Moonshine for the upstairs hall so we’ll continue with it into the hall of the master suite.
The mudroom walls are Moonshine.
The mudroom walls are Moonshine.

1 gallon of Benjamin Moore Moonshine for the master suite hall and closet.

I love the striated blue ceiling in this green room.
I love the striated blue ceiling in this green room.

I’m still toying with a blue ceiling for the conservatory.  Something like the combination above.

The mudroom walls are Moonshine and the ceiling Edgecomb Grey; I might repeat that combination in the master suite hall.
The mudroom walls are Moonshine and the ceiling Edgecomb Grey; I might repeat that combination in the master suite hall.

The ceilings in the master suite closet and hallway are either going to be pale pink (like the bedroom) or Edgecomb Grey like the mudroom.

The  main upstairs hall ceiling is pale pink, Head Over Heels, which I made even paler by adding a quart of white to the quart of pink. I might reuse that for the master closet.
The main upstairs hall ceiling is pale pink, Head Over Heels, which I made even paler by adding a quart of white to the quart of pink. I might reuse that for the master closet.

This should definitely get us started.

I think we'll start in the conservatory so the furniture can be moved back in before spring.
I think we’ll start in the conservatory so the furniture can be moved back in before spring.

I just can’t wait to get paint on the walls.

What’s your next project?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “Off To Buy Some Paint”

  1. I feel like our ceilings are too low for color in the house, but when we redo/screen in the front porch this summer, I think it may get a sky blue ceiling. So excited! I love color!

      1. Haha that’s the spirit…although with the amount of painting we’ve done in the last six months, repainting sounds like a very bad scenario indeed! 😀

  2. I want to like this idea because it’s gutsy, but I wonder if it’d be overbearing, too. So I searched the internet and one suggestion for making ceilings appear higher is to continue the wall color a few inches in around the edges of the ceiling to sorta fake the walls going higher than they really do. Maybe that would help?

  3. I love the idea! My dad painted a dining room ceiling dark blue in one house and everyone told how awful it was going to look before it was painted. Then, once it was done it received nothing but compliments. Sometimes, you just have to follow your heart.

    1. Thanks, Jessica. So great that you have a free-thinking dad. My mother was like that. When I was a kid I never really appreciated her creativity and vision. Now I’m thankful for the legacy. Jo

Leave a Reply

