Discount Cabinets and Good Buys

Not too far from us is a kitchen cabinet supplier (not the one we used for our kitchen) that has a backdoor into their warehouse which is open from 8 a.m. until 1 p.m. Monday thru Friday.

There was a nice set of these unusual high-gloss blue cabinets.
There was a nice set of these unusual high-gloss blue cabinets.
These blue cabinets are very attractive.
These blue cabinets are very attractive.

While the bulk of the warehouse is off limits to shoppers, near the door are kitchen and bathroom cabinets, sinks, and appliances that for some reason or another cannot be sold at retail price.

I almost bought this stainless cabinet but the side that would show in our kitchen had some holes in it.
I almost bought this stainless cabinet but the side that would show in our kitchen had some holes in it.

I’m specifically looking for a bathroom double vanity ( 78 inches long), a linen closet (36 inches wide) and perhaps sinks and countertops (78″ and 43″) for our two new bathrooms.

I got excited when I saw this vanity set but it was too wide by 6 inches. I would have painted it.
I got excited when I saw this vanity set but it was too wide by 6 inches. I would have painted it.

Each time I drop by (before work) the pickings are a little different.

I would have purchased this granite double sink and cabinet if they were not already SOLD.
I would have purchased this granite double sink and cabinet if they were not already SOLD.

For me a real value would be a good price, a good fit, and a good style.  I know I can always amend the color.

I have my eye on this 36-inch wide glass front cabinet for our linen closet -- $150.
I have my eye on this 36-inch wide glass front cabinet for our linen closet — $150.

I think if I’m diligent I will eventually find what I’m looking for.

Where do you go to find high end items at a good price?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Discount Cabinets and Good Buys”

    1. I never knew about our place until my contractor suggested we try it for our kitchen design. The designer there was a little too bossy for me to work with but I saw the discount sign and went in the door. It’s not advertised and mostly used by contractors who no doubt sell the goods to their clients at retail. Maybe you do have something like it in your area and you just haven’t found it yet. Jo

Leave a Reply

