I’m Planning Afternoon Tea

In a couple of weeks I am planning to have some ladies over for afternoon tea. (Number 14 on my 101 in 1001 list.)

A filmy pink ribbon, a china bell, pink candles and some heart-shaped mementos will set the stage for ladies' tea.
A filmy pink ribbon, a china bell, pink candles and some heart-shaped mementos will set the stage for ladies’ tea.

I want it to have a feminine ambiance and to that end I started pulling out our pink and frilly dishes and linens.

The pink teacups are vary dainty.
The pink teacups are vary dainty.

First on the list is a lovely set of Hutschenreuther china that belonged to Charlie’s grandmother.

Hutschenreuther on the left; my mother's tea plates on the right.
Hutschenreuther on the left; my mother’s tea plates on the right.

My mother, who loved beautiful dishes, had a set of six rose-painted plates that go beautifully with the Hutschenreuther.

Pale pink linens.
Pale pink linens.

In addition to a dozen or so pink cloth napkins I have a pink damask table cloth and a white cloth appliqued with pink roses.

A frame covered with roses and a small musical dictionary.
A frame covered with roses and a small musical dictionary.

Whilst I was pulling out things I collected anything that was emblazoned with roses, like a small picture frame and tea towels.

This lovely gold teapot is ceramic and perfect for making tea.
This lovely gold teapot is ceramic and perfect for making tea.

Finally while I love serving tea from ceramic pots,

I must remember to unearth the old silver and get it shine up.
I must remember to unearth the old silver and get it shined up.

I’m going to pull out the pieces of an old Sheffield silver coffee and tea set to use as flower vases.

Some pink and red candles would be festive.
Some pink and red candles would be festive.

And because the only men allowed are those who will serve or play music, (please find your tuxedo, Charlie) the whole afternoon should be very ladylike.

Kindly serve when I ring the bell, Charles.
Kindly serve when I ring the bell, Charles.

It looks like he’s saying, “As you wish , Madam.” I’ll be working on the menu very soon.

Do you volunteer other people for your projects?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “I’m Planning Afternoon Tea”

      1. Haha! “Bonfire tea!” Now that’d be a spectacle. I meant bonafide…. As to wearing gloves; I say go big!

    1. Which is why I have such a horrible time decluttering. I love all this vintage stuff that has been part of my family for generations. Jo

  1. I just realized this was my inspiration for wanting to sit at my vanity drinking tea LOL. I hope you guys have a great time and take lovely photos. I love that gold ceramic teapot!!

    1. When my mother died I promised it to my niece “when she got married” which she has done. I’m going to use it one more time then send it to her. (I’ve already sent the creamer and sugar bowl.) Jo

Leave a Reply

