PB, Are You Reading My Mind?

I just received a new Pottery Barn catalog and it’s full of my colors (see right sidebar) and my patterns. Did they get it from me or did I get it from them? (I’d like to think I was the originator.)

February, 2015 Pottery Barn Catalog
February, 2015 Pottery Barn Catalog

As a matter of fact I can take lots of inspiration from PB’s catalog because, while I wouldn’t pay $50 for a throw pillow, I love the variety.

Pottery Barn pillows: the yellow ochres are lovely.
Pottery Barn pillows: the yellow ochres are lovely.

The blue and yellow ochre patterned fabrics are beautiful and would go great with my grey sofa and blue chairs.

The yellow PB pillows would add a sunny spark to this cool living room.
The yellow PB pillows would add a sunny spark to this cool living room.

PB’s bedroom linens look a lot like the linens I have recently dyed. (Pillow cases and duvet cover.)

Pottery Barn Rustic Luxe collection
Pottery Barn Rustic Luxe collection
My linens include a charcoal grey duvet cover and navy pillow covers.
My linens include a charcoal grey duvet cover and navy pillow covers.

One of the photos in the catalog has a denim colored and textured wall.

PB Denim Wall
PB Denim Wall

I was thinking of using a similar texture and color on the ceiling of conservatory.

I'm trying to picture the conservatory ceiling in denim blue.
I’m trying to picture the conservatory ceiling in denim blue.

The conservatory ceiling is low but large, maybe too large for this technique.

I love the colors in this painting which I can perhaps translate into a tray.
I love the colors in this painting which I can perhaps translate into a tray.

Now I have some concrete pictures of accessorizing. Thanks, Pottery Barn.

What catalog inspires you?

For the record I was not perked or paid in any way by Pottery Barn.

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

13 thoughts on “PB, Are You Reading My Mind?”

  1. Oh yes, I think the conservatory ceiling is too large for this dark a color. Plus doing anything like that overhead might be a pain, literally, though I’m not sure if it would entail more than painting. Maybe try it on a small wall somewhere? Or as a large framed piece of art?

    1. I used to be a scenic artist in the theatre which is merely another name for someone who paints scenery. I always pooh-pooh people who want to use these faux techniques in their home since they’re meant to be seen from afar. And I don’t think I’m up to texturing over my head. That being said, it’s only paint and relatively cheap and easy to change should I make a huge faux pas. (Like how I used faux twice in the same comment?) Thanks for your insightful comment. Jo

  2. I love the idea of doing a texture with paint on the ceiling. Paint is my favorite item to decorate with since it’s simple to change.

  3. I could live in almost every room in a PB catalog! But I do think the denim color would be too dark on your low conservatory ceiling. A very light blue might be nice, though. It would feel open and airy, like sky.

  4. Creamy yellow would, as you said, put some sun in your room (I love blue with yellow), but to me it makes more visual sense to use yellow elsewhere and do the pale blue at the top. Just my 2 cents!

    1. Thanks, DD. Since the floorplan is open I’m trying to tie the rooms together in some way. I’m sure I’ll finally decide on something. Jo

Leave a Reply

