While Recuperating

While I was lying in bed with my leg up and ice on my knee we had some lovely visitors.

My Kodiak ice machine pumps cool water into a wrap to keep my knee cool.
My Kodiak ice machine pumps frigid water into a wrap to keep my knee cool.

They came right in the bedroom.

I was happy these fellows stopped by: (L to R) Charlie, The Finisher, The Man Who Does It All.
I was happy these fellows stopped by: (L to R) Charlie, The Finisher, The Friend Who Does It All.

Our friend who helped us with the cement board in the bathrooms brought his friend by to size up the drywall mudding job in the master suite and conservatory. This project has really been on my mind.

It won't be long before the rest of the master suite is totally drywalled.
It won’t be long before the rest of the master suite is totally drywalled.

They came not only to quote the job but also to tell us the supplies that we would need to buy for The Finisher to finish. In order to quote the job they measured, then counted the sheets of wallboard that were hung.  I think they came up with 50.

The Finisher proposed that he give the closet another coat of spackle -- no disrespect intended.
The Finisher proposed that he give the closet another coat of spackle — no disrespect intended.

I didn’t get up because Charlie has relegated me to the bed (after my knee surgery) until he thinks I can hobble around on my own. (I’m not arguing because if I can get around perhaps my personal doctor and caregiver won’t be quite as attentive as he has been.)

Both men were extremely happy with the coffee which Charlie promised would be on the house any time they were working at The Glade.
Both men were extremely happy with the coffee which Charlie promised would be on the house any time they were working at The Glade.

The three of them went back down to the kitchen where Charlie made each a cappuccino which apparently sealed the deal. Olé!

We used Benjamin Moore's Moonshine for the upstairs hall so maybe we'll continue with it into the hall of the master suite.
We used Benjamin Moore’s Moonshine for the upstairs hall so maybe we’ll continue with it into the hall of the master suite.

My next move is to finalize the paint colors on the newly plastered sheet rock.

How’s your latest project coming along?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “While Recuperating”

Leave a Reply

