Me and My Big . . .

Feet.  I bet you thought I was going to say mouth. That could be true, too.

The bulk of my shoes.
The bulk of my shoes.

What I really want to talk about are my shoes.  I have shoes from over forty years ago.  Why? Because I’m hard to fit.

What is wrong with this picture?
What is wrong with this picture?

I have big feet. I don’t like to go shoe shopping.

My boots -- (L to R) work boots, riding boots (I haven't been on a horse since 1990), Frye boots (gift from Dad in 1975).
My boots — (L to R) work boots, riding boots (I haven’t been on a horse since 1990), Frye boots (gift from Dad in 1975).

And if I find a reasonably priced shoe that’s relatively comfortable I try to buy pairs in various colors.

Same shoe, different color
Same shoe, different color

And in recent years I don’t buy high heels otherwise my feet hurt, my knees hurt and the knee bone’s connected to the thigh bone and the hipbone.  Get the picture?

Athletic shoes - an old pair, a new pair, and a pair for working in the yard.
Athletic shoes – an old pair, a new pair, and a pair for working in the yard.

So my collection of shoes contains approximately 35 pairs of shoes:  8 pairs of flats, 15 pairs of sturdy heels, 3 pairs of boots and 5 pairs of dancing shoes including my tap shoes which I have not worn professionally for more than 2 decades.  Seriously, am I nuts?

I knew you would love to see a close-up of my well-worn tap shoes  -- at least 35 years old.
I knew you would love to see a close-up of my well-worn tap shoes — at least 35 years old.

I am going to shuffle off by saying I think that Charlie has more shoes than I.  His shoes could be worn through to his foot but he would try to get just one more wearing out of them. I might need to sneak some of them into the “to-go” pile.

No mates to these -- should I throw them out?!!!
No mates to these — should I throw them out?!!!

I need to let go of these shoes that just aren’t comfy.  I’ll never wear them more than a minute so why store them?

A business acquaintance bought me these, now they're headed to the free table at church.
A business acquaintance bought me these, now they’re headed to the free table at church. #notmystyle

And for all you lucky girls with average size, easy-to-fit feet, well, count your blessings.

What item do you hate to shop for and buy?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

13 thoughts on “Me and My Big . . .”

  1. I’m a girl who has ALWAYS been of the sensible shoe variety, no stilettos for me LOL if the aren’t comfortable the minuet I try them on they stop on the shelve in the shop, having said that …way too many pairs have found their way home 🙂

    1. So lovely that you minuet when trying shoes — just kidding, tricking to the dance theme. I have 3 pairs of deck shoes (navy, bone, red) and I might have to buy more due to the comfort factor. Off the subject, I love red shoes, they seem to go with everything. Jo

  2. I love this honest assessment of your shoe stash. I love it even more that you have so many dance shoes! Once a dancer, always a dancer. (No wonder I love your posts. 😀 ) I, too, have a pretty substantial hoard of dance shoes, however; I am still dancing and teaching dance 3 days a week. Perhaps you need to get back into tap dancing? Good luck to you!

    1. Cool that you teach dancing. I was once both a tap teacher and dance captain in a long-running show. I’m not sure my knees could take it anymore. However, I have seen a video of Fred Astaire at a very advanced age dancing — just smooth. Jo

  3. You KNOW I can relate to this! I’ll have to inventory my shoes when I get around to that part of the bedroom organization.
    I also have old dance shoes that I won’t toss, just as reminders of lost youth.(I never danced professionally, just took classes.) Keep at it–you’re inspiring me!

    1. I used to love to tap dance probably because the shoes keep their own rhythm within the music. I especially love a syncopated beat superimposed over a straight beat. At one point I even took ballet and used toe shoes but really my feet are not right for that. But I tried. Jo

  4. As a long-time collector of vintage dance items I am quite inspired by these professional tap shoes you were kind enough to show here. The heel brace shows these were used for serious work, not just for dance lessons. Quite fascinating, because old tap shoes are beginning to get rare nowadays. I was lucky enough to dig up some pairs reaching back till the 1930s, showing clearly how tap technique and style changed through the years. Think alone of the then-popular jingle taps (or “rattle taps”, as Shirley Maclaine called them) which are scorned by any serious tapper today. It is also fascinating (at least for me 🙂 how different styles, heel heights etc. were before Capezio established its “Footlight” model as a so-to-say standard in the dancing world – not to speak of the modern “uni-sex” taps everybode wears today.
    So I have to thank you for this interesting glimpse of your personal shoe collection. It would be a pleasure to hear some more words about your dancing career – and, if you ever decide to let your old taps go, please give me a call: I would be more than glad to give them a special place in my collection, parts of which are on display at the local museum.
    Best luck for your renovation project – and please excuse my mediocre English ( I am from Austria/Europe ).

    1. Hi Peter,
      I have never been a fan of jingle taps. I have not tapped for a while and I’m not sure my knees could now stand the pounding it takes to make the hop in a time step. I might have to take on more of a Sandman Sims style but even he does mean wings which would knock me down.
      If I did start tapping again I would probably like the new-style flat shoes.
      As to my shoes — this particular pair has been many colors (depending on the requirement for a show) and eventually the leather split near the left baby toe. At the time I had a wonderful cobbler who repaired it with zigzag stitching which has lasted all these years. Jo

Leave a Reply

