Paper, Paper, Paper

This week’s clutter challenge is the paper pile.

My colored folders have no special meaning.
My colored folders have no special meaning.

And that’s perfect because 1.) it’s about all the cleaning I’ll be able to do with a bum knee and 2.) the end of January is traditionally the time I get my tax records together for the accountant.

Approximately 25 pages of questions to get ready for the tax accountant.
Approximately 25 pages of questions to get ready for the tax accountant.

Last year I changed accountants and so for the first time I have received a “pre-tax packet” to help me get organized.

I'd like to keep color samples of our paint and finish choices.
I’d like to keep color samples of our paint and finish choices.

In addition I have all the paperwork from the renovation which I’d like to organize and stash together in an orderly fashion. (This is a separate item from the plans and permits.) This would include fabrics, finishes, swatches, invoices, paid bills, warranties, and instruction booklets.

Putting information about the renovation in blog form has saved tons of paper clutter.
Putting information about the renovation in blog form has saved tons of paper clutter.

The best organization, however, of what happened in the reno is this blog.  Anytime I need to look up a color, material, or technique I just do a quick search.  I can highly recommend blogging to anyone who has a long-term project ahead of them.

One file drawer keeps most current papers safety organized.
One file drawer keeps most current papers safety organized.

Back to the suggestions for controlling paper clutter:

1. Trash – Notes and bits of paper that made their way into the mix but are now irrelevant.

2. Filing – Decide if the paper should be filed in the short (filing cabinet near the desk) or long term file (box in the attic). Then put it there.

3. Action – I must get to it (like the tax papers).

4. Pending – Someone else is holding me up.

Most of my paperwork just needs a home as I don’t let mail and bills collect.  I take action on those items as soon as they’re delivered.

All the houseplans and permits have been stored in this drawer in the Diva room.
All the houseplans and permits have been stored in this drawer in the Diva room.

I have already stashed all the architectural drawings and building permits in a drawer together.  They had been literally rolling around the house.

My old passport has been renewed.
My old passport has been renewed.

And I wanted to let everyone know that the State Department accepted my home-photoed portrait and has sent me a new passport.

What paperwork item is high on your list to tame?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Paper, Paper, Paper”

  1. I hate the paper mess. I also need to make some files to keep house-related stuff organized. It sounds like it could actually be a fun rainy-day project, so why don’t I do it? We have plenty of rainy days!

    1. The strange thing about filing is that I’m much better about it home than at work. My work papers pile up so fast that I can I can hardly keep up especially in January when I dare not file until all the year-end accounts are reconciled. Jo

Leave a Reply

