My Diva Room

I worked on the smallest bedroom in the house way back here. It’s kind of a girly space so I call it “The Diva Room.”

The Diva Room has a pink and blue color scheme.
The Diva Room has a pink and blue color scheme.

Since this room wasn’t changing during the major renovation, once it was painted and cleared up we used it to house all kinds of clutter that we would later need to sort.

The same room -- aaahhhh!
The same room — aaahhhh!

While we’ve used this cozy room as a guest quarters when we have a full house, it’s also our office in the home.  The desktop computer, printer, copier, fax machine, and files are all housed in the little niche behind the closet.

Perhaps after we get the reno fully finished and save a bit more moolah we can consolidate the copier, fax, and printer. What an idea!
Perhaps after we get the reno fully finished and save a bit more moolah we can consolidate the copier, fax, and printer. What an idea!

I share this office space with Charlie so it’s not easy to keep the desktop clutter free.  I don’t throw his stuff away and I hope he doesn’t throw mine.  I use the top drawer in the file cabinet and he uses the bottom one.  Maybe I can just file his extraneous papers in the bottom drawer in a “pending” folder.

The 2-drawer file cabinet houses lots of important paper.
The 2-drawer file cabinet houses lots of important paper.

Chrissy at Organise My House has a 20 week decluttering scheme with a worksheet that admonishes to answer these questions before starting to move things. In general I’m not a successful declutterer probably because I jump right in and don’t really assess the situation. So starting in this tiny room with big intentions I’ll begin with “The Assessment” this time.

QUESTION – What do you do in this room?

This room is a guest room.  We also use it as an office where we keep bills, financial files, a computer that is NOT connected to the internet on which I store my electronic checkbook and from which Charlie prints his music gig invoices.  It is used more often as an office than a guest room.

QUESTION – Based on what you do in this room, what do you need in this room?

As an infrequent guest room we need:

  • a bed

    Stenciled Bed
    Stenciled Bed
  • a side table
  • drawers for storage
  • a chair

    Functional chair
    Functional chair
  • place for a suitcase
  • light and/or lamps

    Over-the-bed reading lamp.
    Over-the-bed reading lamp.
  • some hanging space

As an office we need:

  • a desk
  • a chair
  • file storage
  • a computer
  • a phone
  • a fax
  • a printer
  • a copier
  • light
  • office supplies: tape, stapler, clips, etc.

QUESTION –  Is there anything else you want/need to store in this room?

I would like to keep the papers, designs, and swatches from the house renovation in the tall chest of drawers.  In the tiny closet I would like to keep gowns and costumes which are not worn often.

I just lifted the stuff on the floor onto the bed.  Another horizontal surface ruined.
I just lifted the stuff on the floor onto the bed. Another horizontal surface ruined.

After forging a path to the desk I dusted the electronics with a microfiber cloth and vacuumed the rug and floor including the tangle of wires near the printer.

The lamps, lampshades, and bubble wrap I'm saving. Bye bye you other clutter.
The lamps, lampshades, and bubble wrap I’m saving. Bye bye you other clutter.

So far I’ve found about 10 staplers – not staple guns, staplers – which will be reassigned. Why do we keep 10 staplers? Why can’t we find a stapler when we need one?

Find a place or out it goes!
Find a place or out it goes!

Next on the list: Relocate one-by-one the clothing on the bed.  Still on hangers, every piece is not a pearl and I hope to be ruthless in my purge.

What are you tired of in 2015?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “My Diva Room”

  1. Do you ever feel like the stuff is multiplying behind your back? That is what it is like in our basement. Just when I think I have a handle on it, I go down there and it is a wreck again. ARG! Good luck with this project. I am rooting for you to win over the clutter.

    1. I started moving the clothing this morning and in addition to the 20 shirts on the door Charlie has about 40 more. Tell me why a man needs 60+ shirts. Jo

  2. LOL OMG on the staplers. I can relate though because whenI can’t find something I go out and get another and then later, when I don’t need it I find all of them. Happened to me this weekend with a wood bit for my jigsaw and then right after I used the new bit I found God only knows howmany. I was so disgusted I could spit nails. And soon as you clean up this room and purge you will start n another room and throw all the excess in this one again. That is how my laundry room is and the kids music room, although when they come over they promptly remove all my junk.

    1. I’m feeling optimistic about controlling the VISIBLE clutter since we have built 2 new closets (actually 3 including the coat closet in the mud room). Just need to finish those closets.
      As to the staplers, I never remember buying a stapler, ever. I’m going to keep 2 and woe betide the person who doesn’t return it to its proper spot. Ditto with the 3-hole punch. We have lots of those too. Jo

Leave a Reply

