One Step Further

My plan was to get rid of the clutter in our bedroom hallway. ( Unlike the red oak floors downstairs, the second floor has pine flooring which is much softer.)

We had a few bags and boxes blocking the upstairs hallway.
We had a few bags and boxes blocking the upstairs hallway.

Our upstairs hallway is now officially decluttered except for Charlie’s shirts hanging in the doorway.

This is not a bowling alley -- it's our narrow upstairs hallway.
This is not a bowling alley — it’s our narrow upstairs hallway.

They won’t actually have a permanent home until the master closet is finished.

From the other end of the hall looking toward the bathroom door at the end of the hall, stairs on the left, and master suite on the right.
From the other end of the hall looking toward the bathroom door at the end of the hall, stairs on the left, and master suite on the right.

But I took the other unsightly bags and boxes and put them in a spot where Charlie (his stuff, you know) can address them at this early convenience.

I set up the rug shampooer in the dining room because it's convenient to the kitchen faucet.
I set up the rug shampooer in the dining room because it’s convenient to the kitchen faucet.

I had taken the hall runner downstairs with the intention of shampooing it. (My method is here.)

The rug is clean and still damp but back in place.
The rug is clean and still damp but back in place.

Believe me, the rinse water was filled with black silt .  Ewww.  I laid the clean rug back in the hallway on an anti-slip pad and let it dry thoroughly.

The rug will dry overnight.
The rug will dry overnight.

Hallway and stairs finished. Check and check.

What room are you focusing on next?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “One Step Further”

  1. For me its the boudoir! LOL.
    How long is that rug? I did not know they make them that long and isn’t the cleaning water always so muddy and disgusting? You have to wonder how you could breathe with all the sand and dirt a rug can trap.
    Congrats on the tick mark. Every one of them counts.

    1. That rug is about 10 or 11 feet long. I think I found this one at a Home Depot when they put a tent in the parking lot that only sold rugs. I wasn’t about to settle on an 8′ runner for my (I think) 13 foot hallway. My boss has one that’s almost 20 feet long but I’m sure it was expensive. You can find them, you just have to keep looking. Jo

      1. It looks perfect in your hall. I have no halls in my “cottage” I was just curious but my next house, or my renovation will include a hall. I need a long rug and plenty of picture hanging space LOL.

    1. A pain, YES!, but when I see the grime that has been extracted I get giddy. I have been trying to persuade Charlie to remove his shoes in the mudroom, especially before going to the second floor, but he resists. I keep slippers at this entrance and immediately get out of my outside shoes. I expect not traipsing through the house in outside shoes would diminish the amount of dirt carried upstairs. Jo

Leave a Reply

