Hallways and Other Access Points

My clutter challenge this week is hallways and stairs.

We've been using the upstairs hall as a storage spot while we work on the master bedroom closet.
We’ve been using the upstairs hall as a storage spot while we work on the master bedroom closet.

And I’m adding a third goal: get to the computer.

Our stairs are so narrow we rarely store anything there for long. (See how the painting looks on the entry wall?)
Our stairs are so narrow we rarely store anything there for long. (See how the painting looks on the entry wall?)

In two weeks I’ll be having knee surgery on my right knee (I had my left knee done 2 years ago).  While I’m homebound I thought I would try to get my year-end financial documents ready for the tax man.

I need to clear a path to the computer that's hooked to a printer.
I need to clear a path to the computer that’s hooked to a printer.

Since we’ve been using our extra bedrooms as closets they sometimes look like floordrobes — piles of clothes still on hangers but on the floor.

A pair of riding boots, pink beroom slippers, and 2 (yes 2) pairs of ballet slippers from my dancing days have all got to goooooo.
A pair of riding boots, pink bedroom slippers, and 2 (yes 2) pairs of ballet slippers from my dancing days have all got to goooooo.

I can usually climb over the piles to get to the computer (not the one I blog from) but with my knee bandaged that won’t be possible.

First I made a pathway by putting everything on the bed which will made it easier to arrange.
First I made a pathway by putting everything on the bed which will made it easier to arrange.

So I made the unbelievable decision to clear it up before my surgery so I can work in there even while I’m still hobbling around.

My first goal of getting to the computer is satisfied.
My first goal of getting to the computer is satisfied.

I’ll be spending the remainder of today deciding what has to go and what can stay. Sounds like loads of fun, huh?

Saturday plans?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Hallways and Other Access Points”

    1. Definitely inspired. I’ve been collecting out old, unused electronics to get rid of for good. Charlie has been holding them back just in case. Errghhhh!!!

Leave a Reply

