What Shall I Hang Here?

I need to go through my artwork (such as it is) to find a piece to hang at the front door entrance.

The wall on the righ tneeds some art.
The wall on the righ tneeds some art.

This is the wall space just inside the door at the bottom of the stairs.

This is the entire wall -- not very big.
This is the entire wall — not very big.

It’s on the fireplace wall so I must leave the vent clear.

The wall above the fireplace vent could use some interest.
The wall above the fireplace vent could use some interest.

This is really the only horizontal art I can think of at the moment. It’s an oil painting of a small cabin in a clearing by a pond.

A small oil painting in an old oak frame.
A small oil painting in an old oak frame.

Perhaps something more abstract would be better here. I do have some old, unframed set design renderings.  I might look through those.

What’s on your wall?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “What Shall I Hang Here?”

  1. Did you ask the Pinterest Fairy or the expert Google? They have gazillions of ideas. Also not sure if you like wall words or not but you could do them on the wall that you can’t hang anything. You can get great inspirations from wallwords.com but I would probably buy off ebay or someplace a bit cheaper if I decided to go that route and don’t have a Silhouette. There are many that fall into your classical design style. Good luck and wish I could be more help.

    1. Great suggestions. I do like wallwords and have plans for the second floor. For now it’s the old oil painting which I had there before so at least I know if I paint something new the size is about right. Jo

  2. What’s on my walls? Nothing but drywall dust, I’m afraid. But I have big plans I tell you… I think the old painting is a good fit. The dark contrast will complement the dark elements of the stair railing

Leave a Reply

