Plans for My Dressing Table

I have inherited my mother’s dressing table which, I think, belonged to her grandmother, so my great-grandmother.

The end of the dressing table is just visible next to the bed in the Treetops bedroom -- I moved it out.
The end of the dressing table is just visible next to the bed in the Treetops bedroom — I moved it out.

Years ago mother painted it a turquoise color then antiqued it which makes the color appear green.  It was a nice color when it was in the Treetops bedroom.

I'm not really digging a green dressing table in a blue room.
I’m not really digging a green dressing table in a blue room.

However, we’ve designed a space for it in the master bathroom so I can sit to do my hair and make-up.

The space next to the shower, opposite the sink vanity, is reserved for a dressing table.
The space next to the shower, opposite the sink vanity, is reserved for a dressing table.

The planned finishes in the master bath are grey marble so the color of the dressing table needs to be changed. (Check out my Pinterest bathroom board.)

I like this marble basketweave tile for the master bathroom floor.
I like this marble basketweave tile for the master bathroom floor.

Here are some inspiration photos for the new finish:

Rosette Finish by Restoration Hardware
Rosette Finish by Restoration Hardware
Maison Finish from Restoration Hardware
Maison Finish from Restoration Hardware
The finished I created on Charlie's tall dresser.
The finish I created on Charlie’s tall dresser.

And, I’ll need a seat of some sort that doesn’t take up much space in the bathroom.

Do you move furniture from room to room?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Plans for My Dressing Table”

Leave a Reply

