Design Decision — Charcoal Duvet

On our king-sized bed in winter is a very fluffy down comforter.

The uncovered down comforter in its pristine whiteness.
The uncovered down comforter in its pristine whiteness.

I like to keep it in a duvet cover because washing the cover is easier than washing the actual comforter.

The duvet cover just laid on the bed to show the color.
The duvet cover just laid on the bed to show the color.

The cover I have is blue cotton pique, almost the same color as the bedroom walls. It seem like too much blue for me so I want to dye the cover.

I've used iDye for natural fibers before.
I’ve used iDye for natural fibers before.

It would be a large, unwieldy piece but probably doable considering my experiences here and here.

I would like a color close to our living room sofa which I'm hoping is iDye  shade "Silver Gray".
I would like a color close to our living room sofa which I’m hoping is iDye shade “Silver Gray” with, maybe, a little black added.

To mock it up before I muck it up I made three alternatives.

The original color of the comforter cover.
The original color of the comforter cover.
A medium grey.
A medium grey.
This is the shade I'm shooting for: charcoal.
This is the shade I’m shooting for: charcoal.

What’s your choice?

Do you fool with messy projects?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Design Decision — Charcoal Duvet”

Leave a Reply

