Late and Lazy

I got busy yesterday morning before work and started ironing the unfinished living room curtains so I could hang them temporarily.  I ironed one panel.

Ironing makes a huge improvement even on half-done curtains.
Ironing makes a huge improvement even on half-done curtains.

Then I shifted into hurry-up mode and just hung the remaining 3 panels. After moving the furniture back into place and tweaking the side table and lamp placement I hung 2 of my favorite pieces of art: portraits of me and my son at approximately the same age by the same artist.

I have no other wall that will hold these portraits -- maybe I'll try shorter lamps.
I have no other wall that will hold these portraits — maybe I’ll try shorter lamps.

I like us to face each other so I put my portrait on the right side of the sofa wall and his on the other.  I was careful to hang the tops of the frames at the same level from the ceiling and the side walls.  Also I try to put the faces on the portraits at my eye level so things don’t get too far off the floor.

The front corner of the living room has an antique washstand topped with a lamp and some photos and my childhood pastel portrait hanging above.
The front corner of the living room has an antique washstand topped with a lamp and some photos and my childhood pastel portrait hanging above.

Tonight we have our church’s Christmas Eve program featuring the choir.  This year, instead of choir robes, we’re wearing white shirts and red ties for the men and jewel tones for the ladies.

Lady K'abel coast -- will I look like a Mayan queen?
Lady K’abel coast — will I look like a Mayan queen?

Since I’m the conductor I generally have my back to the congregation so I don’t want to be too flashy. Just a little glitz.

This is the night of our dear Savior’s birth. Hallelujah!

Are you celebrating?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Late and Lazy”

  1. I thought I had commented but I guess not or maybe it went to your spam because I sent a link with it so you could see what I was talking about.. I wanted to say that you can get a fairly inexpensive steamer from Walmart that you can use to steam your curtain on the window and it makes it a breeze to use.

    1. I got your reply above. Steaming is a great idea and one day I might have a steamer. Until then I’ll be ironing but thanks for the link. It’s good to know what really works. I can think of lots of things I would use a steamer for. Jo

      1. In my reader it said there were no comments so I just typed it again without checking. sorry. yes there are a ZILLION things you can use it for. Best investment I ever made. I am pretty sure the one I have was only $30-$40 but they don’t sell it for that price online.

Leave a Reply

