My Christmas Color Scheme

I started bringing down the Christmas bins which I organized decades ago.

The Christmas bins stashed in the attic.
The Christmas bins stashed in the attic.

Everything stays neatly and safely tucked away 11 months of the year in the attic.

The ornaments I'm planning to use this year are under the front window.
The ornaments I’m planning to use this year are under the front window.

For years I’ve used only red and gold balls on the tree augmented with some special one-of-a-kind ornaments.

The red and gold ball with white lights had been the rule for decades.
The red and gold ball with white lights had been the rule for decades.

This year the color theme in the house is blue and green ONLY with gold or silver highlights.  Anyone trying to insert some red into the mix will be disappointed.

I found a couple strands of blue, green and gold lights -- woo hoo.
I found a couple strands of blue, green and gold lights — woo hoo.

Outside decoration will be the more traditional red and green. I think we’ll use our 3 vintage sleds but in a different aspect. (See Donna’s project at Funky Junk Interiors.)

This year we're going to turn the sleds back to front and try something new.
This year we’re going to turn the sleds back to front and try something new.

I’ve corralled the red balls and plan to pass them on to our son who along with the bin of his own ornaments collected from childhood would make a snazzy tree.

At least 5 dozen red Christmas balls are on their way to new surroundings.
At least 5 dozen red Christmas balls are on their way to new surroundings.

I started the mantle which has plenty of glitzy blue and green and now needs some natural elements.

For the first time I tried hanging ornaments on the mirror.  I got the idea here.
For the first time I tried hanging ornaments on the mirror. I got the idea here.

Perhaps Charlie and I will have time in the next few days to gather some pine boughs and holly from the numerous trees in the woods surrounding The Glade.

We have seemingly endless varieties of evergreens from which to choose just outside the door.
We have seemingly endless varieties of evergreens from which to choose just outside the door.

We’ll try to get the decorating finished this coming weekend and I’d like to get the living room curtains sewn up. Too many goals?

I have 11 yards of fabric to make the living room curtains.  I just need to start.
I have 11 yards of fabric to make the living room curtains. I just need to start.

My go to Christmas music: Elvis, of course.  We’d have a Blue Christmas without him.

What’s your favorite Christmas music?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “My Christmas Color Scheme”

Leave a Reply

