Under the Gun Party Planning

Weeks ago I started planning an open-house style party for Thanksgiving morning. Everything I had designated for the second week of November is still undone so now I’m busy working on the finalized menu and grocery list. (Most of the invitations have been delivered.)

Our invitation
Our invitation

I’ve had sewing projects cluttering up the dining room so first on the list that must be put away. Unfortunately, while I did finish a couple of sets of pillows, I did not get the kitchen and living room curtains finished. Phooey! New curtain goal: before the end of the year.

The dining room table is covered with potential sewing projects.
The dining room table is covered with potential sewing projects.

Charlie and I have selected the table linens.  Next we’ll pull all the china and crystal plates and glasses for the various items we plan to serve.

Since I am a hereditary dish diva, we have lots from which to choose.
Since I am a hereditary dish diva, we have lots from which to choose.

The menu has some items on it I’ve never made before.  I’m not afraid to mix tried-and-true recipes with daring newcomers.  The worse that could happen is that nobody eats it.  I’m not afraid of failure (which is a good thing or else I would never entertain and I’d give up the DIY thing altogether).

In 2012 oranges and cranberries were decoration, this year they're on the menu.
In 2012 oranges and cranberries were decoration, this year they’re on the menu.

The menu:

  • Baked Pumpkin French Toast
  • Cranberry Turnovers
  • Ham and Swiss Quiche
  • Hard-boiled Eggs
  • Oranges (or tangerines) and Bananas
  • Pan-fried Apples
  • Turkey Sliders
  • Yogurt
  • Coffee drinks and Juices

The buffet table will begin the morning with the more traditional breakfast items and as the day progresses those things will be replaced by lunch-style foods.

We'll be offering fresh fruit for people who are picky morning eaters.
We’ll be offering fresh fruit for people who are picky morning eaters.

Now that we have a large kitchen we’ll use the island as the drinks area along with the coffee bar as a service counter.

The baristas will make coffee on the left end and serve it on the right side.
The baristas will make coffee on the left end and serve it on the right side.

Due to the renovation it’s been over a year since any of our friends have visited.  Can’t wait.

What’s on your plate?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Under the Gun Party Planning”

  1. I have to tell you, I thought Thanksgiving breakfast sounded like a great idea, but I’m such a sucker for tradition that it was more of a “fun for someone else” thing. Well, our family is making a new tradition of Thanksgiving breakfast with my mom, stepdad, and sister, because my sister hasn’t been able to make it to Thanksgiving dinner the past couple of years. I bought champagne flutes for apple cider mimosas, supplies for a hot cocoa bar (next to the coffee bar), cinnamon roll waffles, pumpkin pie slow cooker oatmeal, ham, homemade biscuits, and fruit! Thanks for the inspiration!

    1. Chandres, thanks for the comment. Years ago I realized that if I only held to old traditions I would be disappointed by things not being the way I thought they should be. Sometimes people will say, “But you always . . .” I respond, “Now we’re doing . . .” Sometimes our expectations, especially at holidays, make us sad when we could be joyous. Your menu sounds luscious. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. Jo

Leave a Reply

