Oops! Too Short.

The rug pad for the conservatory arrived and we were eager to get it under the rug so the room, unfinished though it is, could be arranged for next week’s Thanksgiving Day get-together.

Lay a felt rug pad shiny side up on a solid surface floor.
Lay a felt rug pad shiny side up on a solid surface floor.

Alas, it was cut a foot short.  I sent a message to USA Rug Pads from their website about the mismeasurement and within 10 minutes someone from the factory called to say they would cut us a new one and have it to us in 2 days. Even with this error I’m really liking USA RugPads.com where the shipping is free and for a limited time they are offering a 15% off coupon. (They have not perked or comped me in any way nor have they contacted me to “say something nice on the blog”. I’m fairly sure they have no idea about LFTM.)

We rolled out the rug on the too-short pad.
We rolled out the rug on the too-short pad.

We’ll lay the replacement rug pad after Thanksgiving.  In the mean time we’ve begun to set up the conservatory which, may I say, is a glorious light-filled room.

We've switched the loveseats all around and decided to keep them facing each other.
We’ve switched the loveseats all around and decided to keep them facing each other.

As I’ve said before, this room needs a lot of finishing .  The drywall is unfinished; we’re walking on sub-floor; there are no doors on the bathroom (also unfinished) or closets.

We have a little more furniture to bring into this space.
We have a little more furniture to bring into this space.

I love this room and I can picture it getting even nicer when it’s finished.  I wanted to tell you the difference between my idea of finished and Charlie’s. Charlie thinks we should remove the grilles from the windows (even though every window in the rest of the house has divided panes) and he wants curtains (“at least valances, Jo”).

I refinished this bistro set ages ago and made a place for it in the new room.
I refinished this bistro set ages ago and made a place for it in the new room.

Errrggh. “I love the windows just the way they are, Charlie. And the ceiling is too low to hang any room-shortening horizontal feature.  I’m sure you’ll change your mind when the walls are finished and the trim is up, dear. Let’s just wait until then.”

The olive trees are over-wintering in the conservatory.
The olive trees are over-wintering in the conservatory. I might try to topiary them in spring.

I didn’t remind him that I hung something too high because that’s where he wanted it.  I’m cool like that. (He even agreed somewhat after the fact.)

How basic is your need for beauty and organization at this time of the year?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

One thought on “Oops! Too Short.”

  1. I think you and I are in agreement about what finished means… I’m eyeing up a set of formica countertops that family friends are taking out. Completely wrong layout for my kitchen, but that’s what circular saws are for.

Leave a Reply

