A Trip to Ikea for Sewing Essentials

In order to make the living room curtains, in addition to the fashion fabric, I will need lining fabric, curtain rings, and drapery hooks.  I have loads of thread presumably some in an appropriate color.

Working on the living room curtains -- French pleated panels, 2 per window.
Working on the living room curtains — French pleated panels, 2 per window.

I decided to head to Ikea for lining fabric which is fairly expensive in the fabric store: $4 to $8 per yard (even at WalMart). My pre-trip research tells me I will have 2 options.

The curtain fabric
The curtain fabric

I can buy the Knoppa white twin flat sheet at $3.99 each.  I would need 4 for the living room curtains — one for each panel.

4 packages of white flat sheets
4 packages of white flat sheets

Or, for the same purpose, I can take a look at Bomull, 100% cotton unbleached fabric at $1.99 per yard. I would need approximately 10 yards.

The Bomull fabric is a beige color.
The Bomull fabric is a beige color and was not in stock at the local Ikea.

Ikea has the Syrlig curtain ring with clip and hook, silver color, 10 pack  for $4.99.  This comes in 2 sizes and 3 colors and I think I can make it work. I need 2 packs.

Unfortunately the curtain rings were not silver but grey and made from plastic.  I passed.
Unfortunately the curtain rings were not silver but grey and made from plastic. I passed.

Finally, they do carry drapery hooks but not the kind I’m looking for.

Hooks on the left from Ikea; hooks on the right from Joann.  I purchased hooks on the right.
Hooks on the left from Ikea; hooks on the right from Joann. I purchased hooks on the right.

The last item on my list is 4″ pleater tape. I don’t think they carry it at Ikea. I was in WalMart this morning looking for it and also came up empty so I stopped by JoAnn to buy the 6 yards I need. (They didn’t have a 6 yard run so I bought two lengths of 3 yards with a 30% discount coupon.)

Pleater tape
Pleater tape

When I got home from Ikea I found all the fabric had been delivered. Now I can get started since I want to finish before the weekend before Thanksgiving — 8 days.

Fabric for the kitchen
Fabric for the kitchen

Stupid goals.

I was not comped or perked by Ikea in any way, as a matter of fact they don’t even know me.

What’s on your timeline?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “A Trip to Ikea for Sewing Essentials”

  1. After reading the beginning I was telepathically sending you the message to check out the sheets. I guess my message traveled through the air waves and back in time to get to you! I am excited to see what your curtains look like.

  2. I am so out of it regarding buying fabric that I didn’t even know you can order online! You’ve opened my eyes! I’ too, am excited to see the finished curtains!

Leave a Reply

