New Party Space: The Conservatory

While I’ve been working on the shades, curtains, and pillows for the finished rooms in the house like the living room and the kitchen, I’ve been pretty much ignoring the conservatory.

Lots of finishing left to do in the conservatory.
Lots of finishing left to do in the conservatory.

First of all the conservatory still needs to be mudded, painted and trimmed.

In total we have 6 double hung windows and a pair of French doors in the conservatory.
In total we have 6 double hung windows and a pair of French doors in the conservatory.

Since, however, we’ve invited folks over for Thanksgiving I thought I might as well get busy in there.  I had been holding off on removing the film from the new windows until the mudding and sanding were done because that just makes a dusty mess.

Look at the view that we've been obscuring with protective window film.
Look at the view that we’ve been obscuring with protective window film.

But the fall colors are so gorgeous and I want to show off the new windows so I pulled the rest of the protective film.

I'm never hiding these windows with curtains.
I’m never hiding these windows with curtains.

And I inserted the grilles.

Can you picture the windows with trim?
Can you picture the windows with trim?

I could look at this view all day.

This view is the real reason I have the love seats facing each other.
This view is the real reason I have the love seats facing each other.

While I was in the “get-‘er-done” mood I rolled out the cream colored carpet which ultimately will be used in this room. It has been used in our bedroom, our living room, and our dining room over the past 25 years. I think it was originally from Pottery Barn.

I had previously cleaned this rug in 2012 when we started using it in the dining room.
I had previously cleaned this rug in 2012 when we started using it in the dining room.

During the renovation it had become a dirty, stained, gross item.  I wasn’t sure it would clean up.

Muddy areas on the edges and dark stains were all over the rug.
Muddy areas on the edges and dark stains were all over the rug.

Using a mixture of 1 tablespoon baking soda, 1 tablespoon Borax, 1/3 cup vinegar, a squirt of blue Dawn and hot water to fill a spray bottle.

This old machine is very reliable pulled up a ton of gross silt from the rug.
This old machine is very reliable pulled up a ton of gross silt from the rug.

I spritzed the entire bottle on the rug then used my old Bissell to rinse and soak up the water.

I'm crediting the homemade rug cleaner with the new brightness of this rug.
I’m crediting the homemade rug cleaner with the new brightness of this rug.

Not only do a have a decent looking rug for the conservatory I also have a super clean spot to lay out the living room curtain project.

Did I forget to mention I found fabric for the living room curtains?
Did I forget to mention I found fabric for the living room curtains?

And I ordered a rug pad.

Are you getting busy?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “New Party Space: The Conservatory”

    1. Reality. I am able to picture things in my mind in 3-D pretty well so I’d say it’s very close. This room is at the same time bright and sunny and warm and cozy. I love it. When the bathroom is finished it will be pretty nice. I’m thinking 6 to 9 months from now. Jo

  1. This is going to be one beautiful space. The view of foliage is so pretty at this time of year! Thanks for the rug cleaning tip … I desperately need to clean the dining room rug when we are done with all this mess.

Leave a Reply

