Two Pillows and the Next Project

As I told you here I would be making two 20-inch square pillows for the living room.

Two 20-inch Ikea feather pillow inserts.
Two 20-inch Ikea feather pillow inserts.

These were super easy because they didn’t require any trim and the measurement was a square.

I've laid the project out on the table to remind me to "GET STARTED"!
The fabric is heavy and bulky but not difficult to work with.

After measuring accurately in one direction a square is easy to make by laying the fabric diagonally and cutting along the straight of grain.

I cut along one of the wales to make a square pillow top.
Cut along one of the wales to make a square pillow top.

In one stitching line I sewed (wrong sides together) 3 long sides and 2 inches or so on the fourth side begging on the fourth side and also ending there.

Imagine rights sides are matched together -- then sew in a continuous line backstitching at the beginning and end and turning at the corners.
Imagine right sides are matched together — then sew in a continuous line backstitching at the beginning and end and turning at the corners while the needle is inserted in the fabric.

The seams were 1 inch wide which I marked with tape on the sewing machine.

One inch from the machine needle to the inside edge of the blue tape.
One inch from the machine needle to the inside edge of the blue tape.

I trimmed the corners on the inside of the pillow close to the corner so the corners would be nice and pointy.

The pillow covers have nice corners achieves by making 3 angled cut close to the stitching line.
The pillow covers have nice corners achieves by making 3 angled cut close to the stitching line.

After turning the covers right-side-out and inserting the pillow I blind-stitched the opening by hand .

These will be perfect for the living room.
These will be perfect for the living room. (The open edge of the far pillow was still pinned in this picture.)

And the next project: kitchen curtains.

The bump-out in the kitchen.
The bump-out in the kitchen while we were still under construction.

I forgot how rewarding sewing is.

Do you sew?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “Two Pillows and the Next Project”

    1. I can remember living on Belvedere Ave and telling MM I wanted to sew Tiny Tears a dress. She cut it out and let me sew all around the outside making sure I left open the neck and armholes. I think, however, I put it on TT before turning it right side out. Such patience. Jo

  1. Tiny Tears! My grandma gave me one when I was tiny myself! She made her dresses. My mom taught me to sew when I was about 12. I sewed ALL my own clothes for many years, but I just don’t have time anymore … maybe when I retire! Yeah!

    1. My grandmother worked in a tailor shop making men’s suits and so was a professional seamstress. I don’t remember her ever correcting us but she would point out fine details on clothing like matching plaids or hand-stitched lapels that were somehow not missed by my sister and me. Jo

    1. Time and space. When I’m in the middle of a sewing project the whole house looks a mess. And Charlie can’t understand why I keep a bag of the scraps until I’m totally finished. I might need a tiny piece, right? Jo

Leave a Reply

