Thanksgiving Informal Entertaining

Last year we wanted to host a Thanksgiving morning get-together/open house before everyone got started on their other holiday doings. Unfortunately they took out our kitchen in the beginning of Thanksgiving week so we sadly postponed the party.

This is our kitchen last Thanksgiving and for the ensuing 6 months.
This is our kitchen last Thanksgiving and for the ensuing 6 months.

This year we’re using the same invitations and inviting everyone we can think of (if you didn’t get a personal invitation let me know because you’re invited).

Before you start your preparations for the day, Come over the river and through the woods to Charlie and Jo’s house anytime between 7 a.m. and noon on Thanksgiving morning for an “under construction” coffee klatch.
Before you start your preparations for the day,
Come over the river and through the woods
to Charlie and Jo’s house
anytime between 7 a.m. and noon
on Thanksgiving morning
for an “under construction” coffee klatch.

With a nudge from Mavis at One Hundred Dollars a Month I decided I’d better get started because Thanksgiving is only 3 weeks away. Since I had the invitations already designed I thought I was way ahead of the game but apparently I’m not. I printed up invitations (40 copies) for people I see regularly but who don’t really use a computer (which is the bulk of my inner circle).  I also posted a similar invitation to my friends (all 20 of them) on Facebook and I’ll email or call the rest.

This is the inside of the invitation.
This is the inside of the invitation. We changed the time from 6-11 to 7-noon. (Our address is blocked out.)

In the next week I’ll finalize the menu plan.  I’m thinking baked pumpkin French toast, quiche or frittata, cranberry turnovers, maybe turkey sliders, coffee, juice, and tea.

I'll definitely be making cranberry relish from scratch.
I’ll definitely be making cranberry relish from scratch.

After the menu is decided upon I’ll make a grocery list and watch for items to go on sale in the weeks before the holiday.  I’m getting a free turkey from my job so I can check that puppy fowl off the list.

I wonder if I can find these guys?
I wonder if I can find these guys?

I like to make a preparation timeline for the entire menu so I can focus on preparing some items in advance and when I need to turn the oven on.

I always make a plan even if I don't stick to it.
I always make a plan even if I don’t stick to it.

All of the above should happen in the next week.  On to the second week in the countdown. While I have the sewing station with my full-size ironing board set up in the dining room I’ll iron the table linens that I plan to use both for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

One of my favorite table cloths.
One of my favorite table cloths.

We have plenty of dishes and silverware but I want to check them and make sure they didn’t get dirty or dusty during the renovation. An evening of setting out the dishes and especially coasters would be a good idea. I might need to run a couple of loads in the dishwasher.

Our dining room window seat is stuffed with china and dishes.
Our dining room window seat is stuffed with china and dishes.

I’ve already started cleaning and fancying the downstairs rooms with a combination of autumn décor touched with hints of the impending Christmas season.

The mantel might needs a branch or two of fall leaves.
The mantel might needs a branch or two of fall leaves.

The last week is crunch time. Time to do any last minute grocery shopping that didn’t show us as sale items previously.  I have already purchased cinnamon brooms and whisks and fresh cranberries at Trader Joe’s.

I bought a load of cinnamon brooms and whisks for party favors and gifts.
I bought a load of cinnamon brooms and whisks for party favors and gifts.

In the few days before Thanksgiving I’ll prep and cook and enjoy lovely smells in the house anticipating a Thankful Day.

Do you entertain during the holiday season? Family? Friends? Acquaintances?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Informal Entertaining”

  1. I’ve been following you for a while now, drawn in by your renovations and staying for the fun and the perseverance you demonstrated in living through and recovering from the renovation. That first picture of last year’s non-kitchen is rather shocking. I don’t know if I ever saw that picture. Have fun cooking in your beautiful new kitchen.

    1. Thanks, Barbara. The old kitchen is now the mudroom which to me seems just. That tiny yellow stove worked fine but it was so small people took to calling it the easy-bake oven. The real easy-bake at least had a light bulb. Thanks for hanging in there with us. Jo

  2. Your Thanksgiving brunch sounds wonderful. Wish I weren’t 3000 miles away! I’ve already had to reschedule a dinner party this fall because we didn’t have our act together and dining room cleaned. Now I have a new deadline … or it would never get done!

Leave a Reply

