Shade Final and the Next Project

Yesterday morning before going to work I finished the dining room shades.

The dining room still needs paint and wallpaper but it will have shades.
The dining room still needs paint and wallpaper but it will have shades.

These were a little wider than the ones in the living room and hang close together.

The room is chaos but the shades are hung.
The room is chaos but the shades are hung.

I couldn’t get them lined up until I reversed the hardware on one of them so I could pull it down.  Live and learn.

These are the only window treatments the dining room will get other than painting the trim which is white in some places and tan in others.
These are the only window treatments the dining room will get other than painting the trim which is white in some places and tan in others.

Now that the shades are finished (I’m going to wait on the ones for upstairs until I make a few more design decisions) and my sewing machine is still set up, I thought I’d make a couple of pillow covers for the inserts I bought at Ikea.

I bought 2 feather throw pillows at Ikea for less than $8 each.
I bought 2 feather throw pillows at Ikea for less than $8 each.

I had a choice of already-on-hand fabrics which I showed you here.

This nubby soft cotton has a wide wale that would add a modern texture to the living room.
This nubby soft cotton has a wide wale that would add a modern texture to the living room.

I decided to use the wide-wale chenille-like fabric for the first two pillows because I’d like to use the print fabric (which I used on this mid-century chair) on a bench for the mudroom entrance which I still have to make .

I'm saving this fabric for another project, after which I might have enough for another pillow or two.
I’m saving this fabric for another project, after which I might have enough for another pillow or two.

The other reason I chose this fabric to start with is because I like pillow covers to be corded and this fabric is just too nubby to cord. A simpler cover perhaps.

I've laid the project out on the table to remind me to "GET STARTED"!
I’ve laid the project out on the table to remind me to “GET STARTED”!

Even though I know how to cover pillows and cushions I’ll be doing a little research over the next 24 hours to refresh my memory. (Again, wish my sister, who is the better sewer, were here.)

Who are you missing?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Shade Final and the Next Project”

    1. Decorating is the FUN part of the renovation. Can’t wait to finish the still unfinished rooms — 2 baths, 2 closets, 1 hall, and the conservatory. Planting the money tree, hope it bears fruit the first year. Jo

      1. My money tree gave a poor harvest this year, so I re planted all the fruit with hopes of a more bountiful harvest next time around 🙂

Leave a Reply

