Weekend Work Order

I’ve gathered everything together to create new window shades.

I have lots of orange-handled scissors but the ones with a ribbon tied to the handle are for FABRIC ONLY.
I have lots of orange-handled scissors but the ones with a ribbon tied to the handle are for FABRIC ONLY.

Once I figure out how to do one I have at least 6 to fabricate.

During the renovation I kept all the shades together with their hardware.
During the renovation I kept all the shades together with their hardware.

I mean I am literally going to “fabricate” the shades: put fabric on them. The old shades matched the old wall color — a pale yellow ochre — now the wall is Revere Pewter so I’m covering them with some greige canvas fabric.

This fabric is the perfect color with strands of grey crossing strands of natural colored canvass but it seems too stiff for curtains, perfect for shades.
This fabric is the perfect color with strands of grey crossing strands of natural colored canvass but it seems too stiff for curtains, perfect for shades.

The old shades were made by Smith and Noble and over the years have become spotted and dirty.  Last night I cleaned the fabric shades so they would be dry before laminating them with another fabric.

I'm using the floor space between the living room and dining room to lay out the shades.
I’m using the floor space between the living room and dining room to lay out the shades.

Since they are made from a material that cannot become saturated with water, i.e. not plastic, I carefully vacuumed them and wiped them with a damp sponge.

I have a can of spray adhesive.
I have a can of spray adhesive (on the right).

I also looked up a number of procedures for applying the fabric and decided to follow this one (for vinyl shades) and this one (for fabric shades).

I'm also planning to wash the windows.
I’m also planning to wash the windows.

Never happy with just one project I’d also like to wash the windows before rehanging the shades. I’ll start in the living room (2 windows).

The shade in the left window is a yellowish tone which I hope to change to greige.
The shade in the left window is a yellowish tone which I hope to change to greige.

If everything goes well I do one for the west side front window

The window on the west front side of the house can't use more than a simple treatment.
The window on the west front side of the house can’t use more than a simple treatment.

And the dining room.

A double window in the dining room.
A double window in the dining room.

If you have tips please give them to me.  I’ve put this off long enough.

Are you taking something off the back burner this weekend?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

One thought on “Weekend Work Order”

Leave a Reply

