The Space Everyone Sees

Days 8 and 9 of the 30 Day Challenge to Declutter are the Mudroom/entry hall and coat closet respectively. Last week I realized that adjacent areas to newly clean spaces look atrocious and the comparison makes it difficult to pat one’s self on the back for all the good work.

I few items get waylaid in the mudroom while we're coming and going.
A few items get waylaid in the mudroom while we’re coming and going.

The garbage, recycling, and old microwave how now been put in their respective places.

Mudroom back to normal
Mudroom back to normal

The mudroom itself stays fairly neat so all that it needed was a quick vacuum.

The mudroom closet doesn't look like this anymore.  Let's organize!
The mudroom closet doesn’t look like this anymore. Let’s organize!

The closet is a different story. This week’s realization is that I keep things in the totally wrong place.  Why must I keep a giant roll of bubble wrap in the mudroom closet and why isn’t all my wrapping gear together?

Coats and boots belong in this closet.
Coats and boots belong in this closet.

Our mudroom closet is essentially a coat and shoe closet with the purpose of keeping the mudroom itself from becoming cluttered with junk.

I don't mind the vintage slide projector in the closet but the bubble wrap has got to go.  I know the perfect place.
I don’t mind the vintage slide projector in the closet but the bubble wrap has got to go. I know the perfect place.

After removing incongruous items and finding a suitable place for them I designated a shelf for me, a shelf for Charlie and a shelf for shoes.

Much better.
Much better.

The top shelf has a basket for hats, scarves, and gloves.

Thankfully we can keep the doors closed.
Thankfully we can keep the doors closed.

Now if I could only finish the hall wall gallery. It’s coming.

Do you store items in a logical place? Or stash them then can’t find them?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “The Space Everyone Sees”

  1. I have been doing that since we moved in. We just kind of threw things in spare rooms to get it out of the way. I’m working on turning my closet (similar to this one) off of my garage entry into a cleaning closet/mudroom closet. I’ve started clearing out the clutter but I need to add shelving like you have and a few other organizational items to help out. But my plan is to store the laundry baskets, paper cleaning products, vacuums, mops as well as a spot for coats/hats/shoes. We shall see!!

Leave a Reply

