Freebies — I Wonder If They Work

I recently found 2 little freebies: Auto Fresh Car Fragrance in Mango Mandarin and Reynolds Handivac Vacuum Food Storage system.

The car fragrance thingy clips onto the air vents in the car.
The car fragrance thingy clips onto the air vents in the car.

The first item was buried deep in our laundry room. It still had fragrance but it was totally dried out so I opened it and added some vanilla extract.

The original liquid was oily and the vanilla is not but it's worth a try.
The original liquid was oily and the vanilla is not but it’s worth a try.

I used it for a couple of days in my car but the scent was too strong for me.

Maybe this will help clear the air.
Maybe this will help clear the air.

Now it’s in Charlie’s car which could use a little freshness.

The other item, Handivac Vacuum Food Storage system, was on the free table at church and had never been opened.

Who has ever used one of these?
Who has ever used one of these?

I have been wanting to try a FoodSaver so I thought I’d see if this worked for us before we go to the bigger expense of a larger machine.

Now I need to buy some of these bags.  I think Charlie is going to love this thing.
Now I need to buy some of these bags. I think Charlie is going to love this thing.

I know I have to buy special plastic bags.  I’ll let you know how it works out.

Are you exercising your right to freebies?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

One thought on “Freebies — I Wonder If They Work”

Leave a Reply

