I’m Taking Credit for It – White Bean and Chocolate Chicken Chili

My friend is having a soup swap and if there’s one thing I know it’s to make the soup well in advance so it has sufficient time to completely freeze. (Almost frozen doesn’t make it, my friends.)

Six new washed and ready quart-size containers with screw-on lids.
Six new washed and ready quart-size containers with screw-on lids.

I decided to take a new tack and instead of creating my tried-and-true soup-swap soup I’m going to create a new recipe especially for the crowd attending. I made a good chicken stock  and cooled it in the refrigerator before assembling the soup.

Pan drippings reducing on the left -- stock pot ready for action on the right.
Pan drippings reducing on the left — stock pot ready for action on the right.

In a clean 8-quart stock pot I added diced bell peppers to my mirepoix and sautéed it in chicken fat skimmed from the broth.

Mirepoix - fine dice of onion, carrot, and celery. I added the weird pepper from our garden, too.
Mirepoix – fine dice of onion, carrot, and celery. I added the weird pepper from our garden, too.
The mirepoix is sautéing in schmaltz.
Mirepoix sautéing in schmaltz skimmed from the cooled stock.

I thickened the roux with a tablespoon of flour, a tablespoon of tomato paste, and 2 tablespoons of cocoa and sautéed until brown and aromatic .

Cocoa, tomato paste, and flour make a good tasting roux with chicken fat.
Cocoa, tomato paste, and flour make a good tasting roux with chicken fat.

Then I added warm stock, about half of a can of crushed Roma tomatoes I had pureed with 3 teaspoons of sugar, a tablespoon of chili powder and some sea salt (to taste).

I let this simmer on low for about an hour.
I let this simmer on low for about an hour.

When everything tasted really good to me I added 3 cans of cannellini beans and the chicken with skin and bones removed left over from the stock.  Thinking I wasn’t quite finished I added a can of creamed corn, another tablespoon of chili powder, and  some chopped parsley.

I made 6-perfect quarts minus one bowl. Yum.
I made 6-perfect quarts minus one bowl. Yum.

After dividing the white bean and chocolate chicken chili into six – 1 quart containers I added a generous spoonful of the reduced pan drippings to each jar. I know, gilding the lily.

After cooling for a night in the refrigerator I twisted the lids on tight and put the containers of soup in the freezer where they will remain until the soup swap.
After cooling for a night in the refrigerator I twisted the lids on tight and put the containers of soup in the freezer where they will remain until the soup swap.

Can’t wait to replace my one-of-a-kind soup with six unique varieties at the swap.

What kind of creativity are you taking credit for?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

One thought on “I’m Taking Credit for It – White Bean and Chocolate Chicken Chili”

Leave a Reply

