I Had to See It in Person

I discovered by reading someone’s blog (wish I could remember whose) that World Market is having a rug sale.  My dining room needs a rug.

The runner in the dining room is just temporary.
The runner in the dining room is just temporary.

I hopped right on their site to see if anything caught my eye and three items did. First the Kari Inspired Jute area rug — looks like old denim.  I wanted to see it in person and it’s out of stock online. I called the store to see if they had any in stock but, unfortunately, I had written down the names of the rugs and the store personnel needed a skew number.

This rug was very thin so I wouldn't want it in a high traffic area.
This rug was very thin so I wouldn’t want it in a high traffic area.

I decided to take my chance and drive 40 minutes to our nearest World Market to see it and maybe buy it.

Those are my fabric swatches on the rug -- they have little in common.
Those are my fabric swatches on the rug — they have little in common.

Not exactly what I had in mind and it didn’t really go with my fabrics and it was too small for the dining room. But for anyone interested they did have a few in stock.

The next rug came in 2 different colors and in a 9 by 12 size which it the size I need.

The dark blue hemp rug really is more of a dark charcoal grey.
The dark blue hemp rug really is more of a dark charcoal grey.
The blue grey Venora is more brown but went well with my fabric swatch.
The blue grey Venora is more brown but went well with my fabric swatch.

While I could see smaller versions of the rug at the store it really helped me decide the color.

The dark blue rug hanging. It's tricky to pick a rug that is hanging since it looks so different on the floor.
The dark blue rug hanging looks like the blue grey rug in the photos above. It’s tricky to pick a rug that is hanging since it looks so different on the floor.

Not the same in person.

It turns out this brownish rug which is called "blue gray" goes great with my fabrics.
It turns out this brownish rug which is called “blue grey” goes great with my fabrics.

The price was good and there would be free shipping except World Market was charging a $25 overweight fee. Wahhh?

Had I wanted a smaller rug World Market had a pretty good selection.
Had I wanted a smaller rug World Market had a pretty good selection.

Maybe I don’t want it that much.

I love this rug and it comes in a 9'-3" by 12'-6" size -- that would be perfect.
I love this rug and it comes in a 9′-3″ by 12′-6″ size — that would be perfect.

Finally I really like the light blue stained glass rug.  Even on sale it’s fairly expensive and has the same upcharge as the hemp rugs.

I was hoping this rug was it but when I looked back at the computer shot I realized it wasn't even close.
I was hoping this rug was it but when I looked back at the computer shot I realized it wasn’t even close.

Unfortunately WM didn’t have any size of The Stained Glass rug in the store so I thought it was a bit risky especially when I read a review that said it’s much lighter than the photo on the web. Then I saw this post by Steph at You Paid More Than Me where she compared the Preston rug to the Stained Glass Rug.

The Preston looks great and costs less but doesn't come it the 9 by 12 size.  Grrrr.
The Preston looks great and costs less but doesn’t come it the 9 by 12 size. Grrrr.

So I just walked away.

Do you get frustrated with surcharges and upcharges and fees and . . .?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “I Had to See It in Person”

Leave a Reply

