The Problem with Cleaning Up

I’m on Day 5 of a 30 Day Clutter Control project.  Day 1 and Day 2 are complete and in a good maintaining situation.

Before - Day 2: MAke-up Clean-up
Before – Day 3: Make-up Clean-up
Not a huge difference but, trust me, I purged.
After – Day 3: Not a huge difference but, trust me, I purged.

After finishing with the 3 projects in the bathroom I now know how luxurious it is to have an organized bathroom.

I call my little make-up chest the Chinese Charlie Chest which I decoupaged with Charlie's photo.  He hates it.
We’ll make this do until the real thing comes along.

I really can’t wait until our new, spacious master bath is finished.

The new master bathroom is 4 times the size of the pink one.
The new master bathroom is 4 times the size of the pink one.

Day 4 was supposed to be a bathroom event also — cleaning out the linen closet but we don’t have one. We use an old painted green hutch in the laundry room to hold towels and sheets.

Full to the brim it is.
Full to the brim it is.

It was here that I really realized the problem with cleaning up is that it’s difficult to isolate.

During the renovation we've been using the laundry room to stash almost everything we own of a fabric variety.
During the renovation we’ve been using the laundry room to stash almost everything we own of a fabric variety.

When one area gets clean the adjacent space looks atrocious. And what’s more during the renovation we had a mice problem and they even came up to the second floor and tried nesting in the laundry room. Although we put everything away clean and folded everything in the pile on the left needs to be washed again.

I've removed all items from the corner and was shock to find a floor which we haven't seen in a long time.
I’ve removed all items from the corner and was shock to find a floor which we haven’t seen in a long time.

The other issue is that we have an over-abundance of lovely things.  So I’m actually relegating sets of sheets to be stored in the room in which they are used.

Much better.
Much better.

I’m sure when our new bathroom is finished we’ll have much more linen storage space because we actually designed a linen closet right in the master suite.

The niche at the end of the hall in the maser suite has been drywalled and is slated to be a linen closet.
The niche at the end of the hall in the maser suite has been drywalled and is slated to be a linen closet.

Today’s task — Day 5: Nightstand or what I’m using for one at the moment.

I happen to be using this bookshelf as my temporary nightstand so I've got my work cut out.
I happen to be using this bookshelf as my temporary nightstand so I’ve got my work cut out.

Cleaning is a drag but having cleaned is awfully satisfying.

What do you find satisfying?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “The Problem with Cleaning Up”

  1. I really like your idea of using a hutch to store linens. I’ll store that one away for future use! I agree, cleaning is a drag, but it’s so much better when it’s done (but then it starts to clutter again).

Leave a Reply

