Feathered Filter

First let me thank Mrs. P at Craft Odyssey  for telling me that her washing machine has a filter that sometimes needs to be cleaned out. I am grateful you took time to comment.

A few days ago my washer was full of wet feathers and I thought I got most of them out.
A few days ago my washer was full of wet feathers and I thought I got most of them out.

Next let me say that my Sunday afternoon was NO FUN! Even as I write this I’m watching my washing machine go through its 44-minute cycle. After the feather fiasco my washing machine was not draining.  Naturally I had a quilted bed pad in there that was soaking wringing wet when it decided not to drain.

My non-draining front loader.
My non-draining front loader.

I googled cleaning the drain filter in a Frigidaire front-loader and I came up with all kinds of advice including how to take the entire washing machine apart. My washer is the bottom of a stackable unit so that was not the answer I was looking for.

Our dryer is on top of our washer.
Our dryer is on top of our washer.

Finally I discovered the drain filter is in the bottom front of the washer just behind the kick plate panel.  The screws to take this piece of metal off are so close to the floor that the screwdriver wouldn’t turn; I had to chock up the washer. I accomplished this myself by leaning the entire stacked unit back and sliding some woodblocks under it with my foot.

With the front of the washer supported on blocks of wood the screws were accessible.
With the front of the washer supported on blocks of wood the screws were accessible.

Unscrewing the 2 screws and removing the plate was fairly straightforward after that.  I watched this short video and found out I didn’t have to take the entire black rubber bag off the housing to get to the filter.

The drain filter is inside the black rubber accordion thingy.
The drain filter is inside the black rubber accordion thingy.

First I tried to get at it from the bottom but could not empty it.  Be aware that every clamp you loosen and gasket you remove will allow a certain amount of water to drain. I covered the floor under the washer with towels, and a plastic bag, and had a shallow dish to catch the water.

I worked most of the filter out the bottom hole to discover it was filled with feathers.
I worked most of the filter out the bottom hole to discover it was filled with feathers.

Then I tried dismantling the top of the gasket and the little plastic filter cartridge proved to be full of wet feathers.  A load of feathers, a drill bit and 16 cents was the total haul.

YUK!!!!
YUK!!!!

I picked all this ickiness out with my fingers which were gross.

I should have worn rubber gloves.  I'm disinfected now.
I should have worn rubber gloves. I’m disinfected now.A

I cleaned around the inside of the gasket with some Clorox wipes just so there was no debris where a leak might form.

The top of the gasket went on first with a clamp that tightened with a screw.
The top of the gasket went on first with a clamp that tightened with a screw.

After the top gasket which is basically screwed on I replaced the outlet tube which has a squeeze clamp.  This was a little more difficult since the space is small and my hands are not strong.  My suggestion is to get the biggest pair of plyers you can find and finesse the rubber piece and clamp onto the plastic hose all at once.

The green clamp is difficult to maneuver.
The green clamp is difficult to maneuver.

I’m still watching the washer and we’re down to 21 minutes left. So far no water has come leaking our onto the floor.  Don’t forget our laundry room is on the second floor and could make quite a mess if it leaked and dripped downstairs.

Up and running!
Up and running!

I can tell you this repair both annoyed me and empowered me. It’s always great when you can accomplish  something you didn’t really know how to do.  On the other hand why is the drain filter in such an inconvenient place? And how come I never knew before my washer even had one?

What did you learn this weekend?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Feathered Filter”

  1. Yeah I’m sooo pleased you fixed your washer, and you got 16 cents for your troubles LOL I hope all runs smoothly from now on …and many thanks for the shout out ❤

Leave a Reply

