I Didn’t Mean to Feather My Nest

I started an enormous project that I’ve been working on for at least 2 weeks now with the end finally in sight.  I’m washing all the bed linens that have been stored over the past year during our renovation.

We have amassed a load of feather pillows.
We have amassed a load of feather pillows.

This includes bed pillows.  I didn’t actually know I had so many feather and down pillows.  I know I personally use 5 but I have another dozen stashed in plastic tubs and decoratively on beds throughout the house.

I use lots of pillows on the bed.
I use lots of pillows on the bed.

I wash pillows in the washing machine.

Our washer/dryer set-up
Our washer/dryer set-up

They come out lumpy and matted until I throw them into the dryer with something hard (like a tennis ball or wool dryer ball, even a shoe will do) to plump them back into shape.

I washed and dried these in the machine.
I washed and dried these in the machine.

Of course I wanted to do one last load yesterday evening after cleaning out the washing machine. I put in 2 old pillows and when I walked into the laundry room to check on the time I could see something went terribly wrong.

Wet feathers --  mmmm.
Wet feathers — mmmm.

The window of our front loader was filled with feathers.  One (I hope only one) of the pillows had burst open. It was a wet, heavy mess.

Wet feathers are heavy.  At least these are clean.
Wet feathers are heavy. At least these are clean.

I pulled the feathers onto a sheet and let them sit in the bathtub overnight — they were soaked.

The wet/dry vac.
The wet/dry vac.

My first thought was NOT to clean out the washing machine so I left it open to dry overnight. I also hauled our wet/dry vacuum up to the laundry room.

Wet feathers stick to everything.
Wet feathers stick to everything.

In the morning I vacuumed all the feathers I could out of the washing machine. Then I wiped the inside down with a clean microfiber cloth to dislodge any stuck feathers.  Then I vacuumed again.

Maybe cleaner than before.
Maybe cleaner than before.

It looks pretty good. I’m sure, just like Christmas tree tinsel and Easter basket grass, I’ll be finding feathers all over the house for the next few years.

Tell me your housekeeping tragedy.

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “I Didn’t Mean to Feather My Nest”

      1. Have you cleaned the filter.. usually when my washer won’t drain it’s because it’s blocked, once cleaned you should be back in action 🙂

Leave a Reply

