Don’t Look — It’s Gross

I’ve been doing a lot of laundry lately but that’s not the reason the inside of my washer is yucky. It doesn’t smell bad (since we switched to powder detergent) but it looks disgusting.

The bottom unit is the washing machine.
The bottom unit is the washing machine.

Even though I leave it open to air after every load, I don’t dry the gasket with a towel.  I think I should do that because I have some, OK lots of, mildew inside the gasket around the door.

This is the black mess inside the rubber gasket just inside the door of the washer.
This is the black mess inside the rubber gasket just inside the door of the washer.

I mixed up some bleach water: 2 to 1 water to bleach. (It’s probably supposed to be 10 to 1 but I’m an overachiever.) Then I took a wash cloth and wiped down the inside with the bleach mixture.

I even let the bleach-soaked rag just sit in the offensive area for awhile.
I even let the bleach-soaked rag just sit in the offensive area for awhile.

I wish I could say it came clean but there was only minor visible improvement.

At least I know it's clean even though it still looks icky.
At least I know it’s clean even though it still looks icky.

I’m going to try and start a new habit of drying the inside of the washing machine gasket after every load.

What cleaning problem do you overlook on a regular basis?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

11 thoughts on “Don’t Look — It’s Gross”

      1. I know in spite of that, she still likes it enough that she’s sorry to hear I might not be able to have one. Either a 24 inch European front loader, or a Speed Queen from a local store that will dismantle it and reassemble it in the basement. What’s your take there?

      2. Yeah I wouldn’t get the all in one type. My plumber nixed running plumbing to the only place upstairs I was willing to turn into a laundry closet, so basement it is. It’s just the absurdly narrow width of those stairs… plenty of room for two once I get ’em down.

  1. I have the same problem with my front loader, and it IS gross (glad to learn I’m not the only one!!). Scrubbing it with cleaners doesn’t seem to budge the black gook. I’m going to try some washer cleaner stuff … or maybe run a vinegar solution through? I’ll have to do some research …

Leave a Reply

