Progress – Week 2

Here is the progress of week two 2-month week-by-week plan.

This week I worked on the runner on the stairs from last week and started working on the list below the picture.

And here's the second floor.
The king size sleigh bed (with the blue covering above) goes in the master bedroom.

September 29 – October 5

  • Paint, cut, and install baseboard for back of master bedroom (buy shoe molding)
  • Cut down footboard of sleigh bed
  • Strip sleigh bed frame (buy stripper)

The list above are the things I was supposed to accomplish this week.  First I tried cutting the baseboard which was not a total failure but not really a success either.

Bedroom baseboard
Bedroom baseboard

Then I thought I could work on the sleigh bed but I was stopped in my tracks by the fact that I can’t find the hardware to hold the bed together. This bed project is on the back burner until the hardware shows up.

The sleigh bed has dedicated hardware that is stashed somewhere. I wonder where that is?
The sleigh bed has dedicated hardware that is stashed somewhere. I wonder where that is?

Instead I decluttered the mudroom

Most of this pile gets recycled.
Most of this pile gets recycled.
Mudroom back to normal
Mudroom back to normal

and cleaned the bathroom with my favorite home-mixed cleaner: blue Dawn and vinegar,

The vinegar/Dawn concoction even cleans our old tub.
The vinegar/Dawn concoction even cleans our old tub.

and made double vanilla extract with enough time to steep before the holidays,

Plain rum on the left; double vanilla extract with rum base on the right.
Plain rum on the left; double vanilla extract with rum base on the right.

and I got a haircut.

Next week’s plan is to continue to work on the bed so I’ll see if I can make progress.

Do you overestimate you personal strength? Ability? Funds?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Progress – Week 2”

Leave a Reply

