Tuxedo Mug for a Tuxedo Kitchen

My mother loved dishes and so do I. I have lots of dishes, some inherited and some bought, but I often want to acquire more dishes.

Part of my collection of Merrileaf by Red Wing which I purchased.
Part of my collection of Merrileaf by Red Wing which I purchased.

I try to limit myself by allowing form to follow function.  Recently I saw some mugs for our new coffee bar that appear to be designed just for us.

These are our everyday coffee or tea mugs
These are our everyday coffee or tea mugs

First, the function.  I like glasses and mugs that are wider on the bottom than on the top so they don’t topple easily.

The new Starbucks mug.
The new Starbucks mug.

I also like cups and glasses that aren’t too big. For me it’s not the quantity of food but the quality that counts.  I’m not a fan of “all you can eat” (or drink) menus.

The middle of the mug matches our backsplash tile.
The middle of the mug matches our backsplash tile.

Starbucks, or really I should say one local Starbucks store, has a new mug that exactly matches our new kitchen. (I visited 5 other stores and the online store and could not find another mug like this.)

I'm not going to use these mugs until the espresso machine is permanently moved into the kitchen.
I’m not going to use these mugs until the espresso machine is permanently moved into the kitchen.

They’re creamy white on the top like our polar white top cabinets and two shades of taupe on the bottom like our graphite bottom cabinets and royal grey honed limestone backsplash.

The mug in front of the cabinets it matches: white on top and grey on the bottom.
The mug in front of the cabinets it matches: white on top and grey on the bottom.

I had to purchase all they had which was only 4 mugs.  I would ultimately like 8 of them.  I’ll keep my eyes open.

Are you ever tempted by the “perfect thing”?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Tuxedo Mug for a Tuxedo Kitchen”

Leave a Reply

