Oven BBQ Pork

After weeks of unbearably hoooottttt weather we finally have a cool, rainy day so I thought I would cook.  We had just purchased a large package of pork loin chops on sale.  I had a great recipe for pork spare ribs that I hadn’t made for over 20 years.  I looked through my recipe collection and found a stained copy of the recipe.

The ingredients for a really tasty barbeque sauce.

Barbeque Sauce

4 tablespoons clear honey
4 tablespoons soy sauce
2/3 cup orange juice
1-1/4 cup tomato ketchup
2 garlic cloves, crushed (I replaced with scallions.)
1 teaspoon dried basil (I replaced with 2 sprigs of fresh basil.)
salt and pepper

Mix all the marinade ingredients together and pour over the pork, cover and refrigerate overnight.

I replaced garlic and dried basil in the original recipe with fresh scallions and fresh basil.

This is a recipe for spare ribs which I replaced with about 5 pounds of pork loin chops. The meat was frozen when I started so I marinated it and let it thaw on the counter for about 5 hours then cooked the meat and sauce in a baking pan in a 375 degree oven for about an hour and 15 minutes.

Notice the well-used recipe on the counter behind the food.

The entire pan was covered tightly with aluminum foil for the first half hour.  Next time I might leave the foil on a little longer. 

After the aluminum foil is removed bake until the sauce thickens.

We enjoyed these on Saturday for dinner and again on Sunday for lunch.  I just can’t get enough of the barbeque sauce.

This barbeque was baked in the oven but could be used on a grill also.

Next time I might make a double recipe of sauce. One note about the sauce: it’s not nearly as good when first made as it is after it has cooked for an hour over the meat.

What’s cooking at your house?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

Leave a Reply

