The Books of THE Book

Jennifer at ILoveRehabs had a piece of artwork in her post about styling her bookshelves which I really loved.

I had 2 reasons for wanting a copy of it: my son would love it and it would make a great “certificate” for the young children at church memorizing the books of the Bible in order.

So Jennifer sent me a copy of her take on the same poster. I had it printed at Staples onto 11″ by 17″ paper for $2 (I had 2 made so $4.)  I wanted to frame one of them but had a difficult time finding a 11′ by 17″ frame for less than $15, out of my price range.

The art would work with a variety of frame colors.

I looked all around my “artwork” and some empty frames we had on hand at home and found a pair of tropical prints which I had never really cared for.

Old tropical print with goldleaf frame and rust-colored mat

While the frame was not exactly 11″ by 17″ it could accomodate the print with a little extra room on each side. 

Gold leaf frame

 I decided to spray the frame teal to match some of the writing and because I had teal spray paint on hand. 

Spray painted frame

On either side of the poster I added a thin orange ribbon.

Thin orange ribbon borders poster.

I tucked everyting back into the newly paint frame with cleaned glass.

The framed art ready to be hung.

This is a surprise Easter/birthday gift for my darling son who was born on Palm Sunday 30 years ago.

What’s your frugal answer to hanging art?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “The Books of THE Book”

  1. Looks great! I love the teal and orange. It gives it some depth. If you are looking for a cheap 11X17 frame check out walmart. They have a cheap one for 3.97. Its black but you can spray paint it. I like the way yours turned out better than mine! Thanks for the shout out! Happy Early Easter.

Leave a Reply

