The Other Twin

I have a pair of twin beds from the late 1950s one of which I painted here when I recolored our little bedroom pink. The second bed is in the Cottage and also needs a little paint uplift.

Paint this bed!

 I wanted a color that would stand out against the newly painted Templeton Grey” wall.

Templeton Grey by Benjamin Moore

 I thought I had some paint left from painting the fireplace bricks in the living room which was sort of a sandy color but naturally I couldn’t find it. I also didn’t want to buy any paint so I mixed my own concoction of Mourning Dove (with which I painted the first bed) with Pond Moss (a free sampler from Valspar) and came up with what I’ll name Glade Pale Bamboo. It’s sort of a straw color with just a hint of chartreuse. I made just enough to cover the bed and not a brushstroke more. (I used a little foam roller for the flat areas.  It takes a few more coats but gives a nice even coverage.)

Glade Pale Bamboo

 And I sprayed the knobs on top first with Satin Nickel then a light overspray of Metallic Charcoal.

Bed is painted and back in place.

 Ultimately I’d like to paint a little seascape on the headboard but for now I’m going to call it “finished”.

Nighty, night!

 The old bedspread in the above photo must be for a double bed because it pools on the floor on both sides.

I donated that old bedspread and decided to use a comforter instead.

So both twins are painted. Cross that off your list!

What have you crossed off your list?  Did it come in pairs?

Sidebar:  Spoiler Alert!

And the bed side. How great does that blue look!!?

I’m linked to

Boogie Board Cottage Masterpiece Monday

Boogieboard Cottage



Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

Leave a Reply

