Above the Caffe Bar

I’ve been searching for something to hang in the small space – 27 inches wide — space on the wall above the coffee bar.

We keep the espresso machine and small toaster oven on the stainless steel topped peninsula.

We keep the espresso machine and small toaster oven on the stainless steel topped peninsula.

I tried a variety of small cabinets I already own: 2 handmade cabinets and one antique cabinet.

I was hoping to use this cabinet but it just didn't work in the space.

I was hoping to use this cabinet but it just didn’t work in the space.

On a stroll through Home Goods I saw this little wire shelf with 2 drawers and hooks for $30.

Grey painted metal shelf with hooks from Home Goods.

Grey painted metal shelf with hooks from Home Goods.

Even though I wasn’t sure if the color  was quite right (I can always paint it) the dimensions were perfect.

A perfect fit.

A perfect fit.

Here it is on the kitchen wall.

I'm leaving the tags on until I'm sure this is the right item (meaning "does Charlie approve?")

I’m leaving the tags on until I’m sure this is the right item (meaning “does Charlie approve?”)

On the top shelf I put a little espresso set we bought in Rome.

We bought this little set back in 2005 -- the colors are perfect.

We bought this little set back in 2005 — the colors are perfect.

Hanging from 2 of the hooks I added 2 cups we found in Paris (the matching snack plate/saucers are in the drawer).

I'm not quite finished accessorizing yet.

I’m not quite finished accessorizing yet.

Now I’m working on a little graphic or picture for the adjoining wall.

Where do you search for just the right something? Do you shop your house first? Or go straight for retail?

 

One response to “Above the Caffe Bar

  1. Funny you should ask. I have been searching for a cabinet with glass doors to go next to my refrigerator and over the microwave for several months now. I do not want to buy anything new, which is making the search take forever, but I have faith that I will find the right piece.

Leave a Reply

