New Lamp Shades for the Limoges

Charlie and I went on a short road trip to Hanover, Pennsylvania, and stopped in the Ross store. (I’ve been to Ross all over the East Coast because I think they have good deals.) Lately I’m on the hunt for lamp shades.  I have a couple of few requirements:

  1. The top has to be the spider style.

    Our lamps all take this old style lamp spider.

  2. The size needs to be large enough for a tall cylindrical table lamp.
  3. The shape should be something other than a coolie (conical) hat.

Inherited Limoges hand-painted lamp with cream-colored conical shade.

The pair of these French lamps are destined for the master bedroom when the renovation is complete.

A lamp will sit on this inlaid bombe 3-drawer chest at either side of the bed.

When I saw this mushroom silk, fully lined,  square-cut-corner shade at Ross for $7.99 I thought I could make it work on the Limoges lamps.

8″ square at the top, 16″ square on the bottom, 12″ tall

When I put it on the lamp, however, it hung too low.

Like a hat that covers one’s eyes this shade is too low.

That’s not necessarily a problem if I can find the correct hardware to adjust the lamp’s height. When shade styles change so must the harp or hardware.

An accumulation of precious lamp harps and hardware.

In addition to inheriting the lamps I also inherited Mother’s box of lamp harps and other lamp hardware (like brass finials) in which she kept parts of old lamps including the spacers she had removed from the iris lamps when she changed the shades.

The iris lamps have no harp but this spacer gives the shade additional height.

The long spacer came in 4 parts which allowed me to use just the parts that would let the shade to fully cover the bulbs while showing the maximum amount of lamp base.

The spider of the shade sits atop the spacer and the finial screws on top.

I like it when an cheap inexpensive plan comes together.

Limoges iris lamps with a new shade.

These lamps have 2 bulbs each which light with a pull chain.

We’re fairly sure these lamps were created from matching vases.

Notice that I also shortened the bronze rod with a thumbscrew so the lamps would be of equal height. For the time being I’ll leave them paired in the living room.

The pair with their heights adjusted so they match (more or less).

I can’t wait to add these truly French accents to the bedroom. Maybe next year.

What your latest great deal?

Leave a Reply

