Another Big Fat List

I am a list maker! I even have encouraged Charlie to start making his own lists (which he does and now suggests others do the same). So I’m a big fan of listing. This newest list is called: “Items I want to look for at the Vintage/Salvage Yards”.

1. Interior doors – Can you believe the structural engineer who works with my architect actually made a listing of doors needed for the new design and numbered about 10 interior hollow core doors.  The Glade does NOT have hollow core doors.

We’re looking for solid wood paneled doors.

2. Piece of furniture for a bathroom vanity. I would love something vintage that we can refinish and reconfigure.

Vanity

Source: bhg.com via Melissa-Sue on Pinterest

3. Shutters for the new windows. We probably have sufficient shutters for the full-size windows but the smaller casement windows (over the counters in the kitchen and bathrooms) will also need shutters. We should be able to find appropriate ones at a salvage yard since they usually have lots of old shutters.

Shutters on the house are Duron’s “Thunder Grey”

4. Bird’s eye windows.  I really like our design decision to repeat the bird’s eye window (which is in the current bathroom) in the two new bathrooms.  We’ve been looking for a while for round windows exactly like ours but have not yet been successful.

Bird’s Eye Window at The Glade

5.  French double doors. We are planning to have a pair of interior French doors and two pairs of exterior ones as well. The interior ones, at least, should be of a vintage variety. Let’s see what we can find.

French doors from our second floor bedroom to a porch.

6. Lighting fixtures for closets, bathrooms, hallways. We want to find something unique and vintage at a really good price.  We know how to rewire and refurbish.

A small fixture we found at the salvage yard for $10.

The hunt is on!

What do you seek?

4 responses to “Another Big Fat List

  1. This is a comment I just left on your April featuring my art:

    OMG. I was informed that my art was used without my permission. I am flattered that you would like my work enough to use it, but I must tell you that I am trying to make a living selling my work. I would have appreciated you at least asking me. I will now be putting a notice on my blog and shop to let my readers know that if they are interested in my work, to PLEASE purchase it. Your desk looks very beautiful, and thank you for at least linking back to me and citing me.

    Anita Rivera Designs ©

  2. Hi Jo!

    I appreciate your getting back to me. You see, I quit my full-time job to sell my art!!!! I am very flattered that you enjoyed my dogs, and I think that we all are learning the etiquette of internet use and all the goodies we find on it! The cards are really lovely and if you can and want to, go to my Etsy shop here for that particular set of cards. They make for great birthday cards!:

    https://www.etsy.com/listing/96757929/birthday-cards-boys-of-terrier

    I have other cards as well! I do appreciate your swift response and I have learned as well that it is always a good idea to inform the artist/photographer/writer ahead of time, that you are interested in using their work for personal use. I hope to see you on Etsy and do come visit my blog!

    Have fun, Anita

  3. Thank you very much, Jo.

    Anita

Leave a Reply

